LibGuides: Historical Studies (Divinity): Jonathan Edwards

Research Tip

John Edwards is a common name and it can be difficult to limit your search to relevant results in online databases and catalogs. In the library catalog and most library databases (ex. ATLA), you will have better luck doing a subject heading search.

Use: Edwards, Jonathan, 1703-1758 for best results. This subject heading will take you to a list of the most relevant resources.

Examples of a Subject Heading Search in the library catalog and ATLA:

Source: Image 1 & Image 2

Highlighted eBooks

The Theology of Jonathan Edwards by Michael J. McClymond and Gerald R. McDermott
Call Number: Online & BX7260.E3 M34 2012
Publication Date: 2012
This is a survey of the religious thought of American theologian Jonathan Edwards that draws on all of his writings.
The Cambridge Companion to Jonathan Edwards by Stephen J. Stein
Call Number: (RESERVE) BX7260.E3 C28 2007 (also online)
Publication Date: 2007
This Cambridge Companion offers a general, comprehensive introduction to Jonathan Edwards and examines his life and works from various disciplinary perspectives including history, literature, theology, religious studies, and philosophy.
Understanding Jonathan Edwards (online) by Gerald R. McDermott (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
This book contains chapters based on the latest research on the subject of Edwards and the result is an introduction to North America’s most important religious mind on subjects he considered vitally important: revival, Bible, typology, aesthetics, literature, preaching, philosophy, and world religions.
Browse more eBooks on John Edwards

Primary Sources

Jonathan Edwards Center (Yale University)
A digital collection of sermons, manuscripts, and primary texts by John Edwards courtesy of Yale University
Books at Duke by John Edwards
A list of works by John Edwards as author.
The Sermons of John Edwards: a Reader
In the Divinity School Library, BX7233.E42 S47 1999 c.1.
America's Historical Imprints
Search across Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans-the definitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th-century America.
America's Historical Newspapers
TIP: set limits (dates, eras, etc.) for a more focused search.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
This full text searchable database of more than 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. TIP: try an advanced search and set the date parameters for better results.

Databases and e-Resources

ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is a great resource to begin exploring peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in religious studies. It contains a wide scope of material concerning both Eastern and Western religions.
America: History & Life
Definitive database for articles on the history of United States and Canada. TIP: Do a subject search for: Edwards, Jonathan, 1703-1758, to focus your search results.

Finding books

Use the Library Catalog to search for books at Duke. Broaden your search to books worldwide by searching, Worldcat.

Edwards, Jonathan 1703-1758

Edwards, Jonathan 1703-1758 -- criticism & interpretation

Use the subject headings linked above to browse lists of books at Duke on the John Edwards, criticism and interpretation of John Edwards, and free will and determinism.

Historical Studies (Divinity): Jonathan Edwards

Research Tip

Highlighted eBooks

Primary Sources

Databases and e-Resources

Finding books

Contact Us

Services for...