Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.
The encyclopedia of American Catholic history by
Call Number: Ref BX1406.2 .E53 1997 at Divinity
Dictionary of Christianity in America by
Call Number: Ref BR515 .D53 1990 at Divinity
19th Century Collections Online Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
Provides essential documentary materials that explore religious and philosophical movements in reaction to the dramatic changes in culture and society wrought by the industrial revolution and modernity.
America's Historical Imprints: 1639-1819
Provides simultaneous searching of these Archive of Americana collections: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.
Everyday Life and Women in America c.1800-1920
Searches primary documents detailing the social & cultural forces that shaped the lives of women and men in America from 1800 to 1920.
North American women's letters and diaries
Includes records from more than 1500 women from colonial times to 1950.
Race Relations in America
Search primary sources related to the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination, and race theory in America from the Race Relations Department, a think tank based at Fisk University 1943-1970.
Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary source document collections from colonial times to the present. Items are arranged by social movement, as well as by authors, sources, etc. Includes images.
American National Biography
Contains information about nearly 18,000 American men and women who are no longer living. Includes photographs.
America: History and Life
Contains citations and abstracts, from 1954 to date, covering all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Search using "United States--Church history."
Encyclopedia of religion in America
A comprehensive reference source on the historical development of faiths in North America and religion's intersection with political, social, and economic life.