EBR (in progress) documents the history of the Bible's reception, not only in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora, but also in literature, art, music, and film, as well as Islam and other religious traditions and current religious movements. The online articles are fully searchable.
Encyclopedia of the Classical World, including:
v. 1. Chronologies of the ancient world -- names, dates and dynasties; v. 2. Dictionary of Greek and Latin authors and texts; v. 3. Historical atlas of the ancient world; v. 4. The reception of myth and mythology; v. 5. The reception of classical literature; v. 6. History of classical scholarship -- a biographical dictionary; v. 7. Figures of antiquity and their reception in art, literature and music; v. 8. The reception of antiquity in Renaissance humanism.
A primary resource of bibliographic information for the study of the Hebrew Bible. Indexes journal articles, books, collected essays and Festschriften; 1978 to date. Provides abstracts for non-English scholarship.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology.
Full text database of virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of Byzantium in 1453.
Duke's virtual private network (VPN) allows you to create a secure connection from your computer to Duke over a public network while working remotely. If you are having trouble accessing any of the databases or other library resources listed here, try installing the VPN client.
ATLA Religion Database and ATLA Serials Plus hosts hundreds of full text journals in religion and theology, religious history, biblical studies, and more. Use the Scripture search (pictured below) to search for peer-reviewed articles that deal with a particular book/chapter/verse of the Bible.
The following is a list of journals relevant for the study of the Bible which the Duke Divinity Library subscribes to. Some journals are either in electronic of physical form, and some are in both.