Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Photography Research: Getting Started

Welcome Pat Bass' 303 History of Photographys' DOCST 204S "Medicine and Documentary Photography""AMI

Beginnings - Reference Sources

 


Oxford Art Online
- Art databases, searchable uniformly or individually, produced by Oxford University Press. 

Oxford Reference Online (includes photography)
~ Reference books migrated to electronic form.  Many art and photography sources not included above.


Encyclopedia of nineteenth-century photography / John Hannavy, ed.  2 vols. New York : Taylor & Francis Group, c2008.  Lilly Library Reference R9 .H25 2008
~ newest reference source for the history of photography.  Scholarly, a good place to begin.

The Oxford companion to the photograph  Lenman, Robin. also hardcopy Lilly Library: TR9 .O94 2005
~ online and hardcopy starting point for photography history, terms, bibliography, etc.

The Abrams encyclopedia of photography / edited by Brigitte Govignon. New York : Harry N. Abrams, 2004.  Lilly Library Reference TR9 .P4813 2004 
~ smaller overview on photography, excellent plates.

SEARCH PHOTOGRAPHIC IMAGE COLLECTIONS

George Eastman House - Photography collection - a historic photographic images from one of the major collections.

Metropolitan Museum of Art - image collection - high quality study images, can limit by photographic medium

See also Image collections guide  (https://guides.library.duke.edu/images/art-material-culture)

Duke!  Archive of Documentary Arts (essentially photographs)

Don't Forget to Browse!

TR 600 - at Perkins Library, 2020-2022 while Lilly is renovated

  • Nearly all the books on photography are clustered in this area--by subject--easy and fun to browse.  Everything circulates!

Specialized Reference

Processes

Graphics Atlas (online) http://www.graphicsatlas.org/ - online source for explaining and identifying print processes.  Sponsored by the Image Permanence Institute.

The Focal encyclopedia of photography / edited by Leslie Stroebel and Richard Zakia  3rd ed.  Boston : Focal Press, c1993.  Lilly Library Reference R9 .F6 1993  
~ best handbook explaining processes, techniques and materials, historic and contemporary

Collections

International photography : George Eastman House index to photographers, collections, and exhibitions / Andrew H. Eskind, editor ; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors.  Edition  Enl.  3rd enl. ed.    New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, 1998.  Lilly Library  Reference  TR12 .E85 1998  
~ the most comprehensive indexes of collections and locations of individual phtographs and works.

 

 

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website