Latin American & Caribbean Studies

• Duke Catalog (Effective 1/16/2019 this search includes links to the Triangle Research Libraries combined catalog of Duke, NCCU, NCSU and UNC
• WorldCat

  Search over 36 million items from libraries worldwide

Search these online sources for encyclopedia articles and dictionary entries on Latin American & Caribbean themes

Journal Articles, Abstracts, and E-book Collections on Latin America:

The most frequently used databases are in BOLD text.

• CLACSO - An institutional repository of freely available materials including books, reports, conference papers & journal articles from 1998-Present
• Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920 - Includes books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides, and ephemera from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
• Clase and Periodica - An index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
• Classic Mexican Cinema - A collection of popular movie periodicals on Mexican cinema including reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements.
• Dialnet - An open access database that indexes journal articles, book chapters, theses and monographs published in Spain.
• Digital Library of the Caribbean - A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
• Handbook of Latin American Studies - A bibliography with brief abstracts consisting of scholarly evaluations of selected humanities and social sciences publications in the field of Latin American studies from 1936-Present.
• Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) - A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States from 1970-Present. NOTE: HAPI IS INCLUDED IN THE DATABASE PRISMA (LISTED BELOW). SEARCH HAPI BY SEARCHING PRISMA.
• Informe - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.
• Latin American Newsstream Full text of 70 publications including most major newspapers from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese and some English from the mid-1990s-Present.
• Latindex  - Provides indexing and access to some of the full text of scholarly journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. It includes the databases Redalyc and Scielo as well as others.
• LILACS - Latin American and Caribbean Literature on the Health Sciences - Covers literature related to the health sciences  published in Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982.
• Oxford Bibliographies Latin America - Contains bibliographic essays by leading scholars on key topics in the Social Sciences and Humanities related to Latin America. 
• PRISMA - (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) provides full-text to scholarly journals for the interdisciplinary study of Latin America & the Caribbean from the 1970s-Present.
• Red ALyC - An open access database of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Iberia.Search in Spanish.
• Scielo - An open access database of full-text articles from journals published in Latin America, the Ccaribbean & Iberia. Search in Spanish or Portuguese.
• Sur - Includes images of one of the most important literary magazines of the 20th century containing the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements.

To read more about the contents of any database in the Duke University Libraries, click on the title below and then on "view full record."

Multi-disciplinary

Social Sciences

Humanities