Skip to main content

Political Science: Search Engines

subject portal

Search PolSci sites

Google search of selected Political Science sites

NGO database

The library's NGO research guide includes a dynamic database of hundreds of NGOs. Search and sort by keyword, subject, region, IGO affiliation.

NGO database

Duke Libraries

Duke Libraries portal

Start here to search the catalog, e-journals, and databases.

All is the library's interface for simultaneously searching the catalog, e-journals, databases and more--with some caveats due to technical reasons.

See the Tips for using the All tab.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar limits your results to academic resources.

tip:  To get the link when using Google Scholar off campus, go to Scholar Settings and choose Duke from Library Links.

You can also set your preferred citation tool (Endnote, Refworks) in Scholar Settings for one-click citation export.

Search Think Tanks & Research Institutes

Think Tank Search
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks

Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. 

Tips: Search these selected think tanks by keywords to find research and analysis.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.

Political orientation of think tanks, per FAIR.org (2009)

Global Go To Think Tank Index (U Pennsylvania)

American Policy Directory (U Oregon)

Think Tank List (WorldPress.org)

Web Archives

Internet Archive
Includes textsaudiomoving images, and software as well as archived web pages; works best if you know the past URL of the site

Human Rights Web Archive
From Columbia U., preserves web publications and sites on human rights, at risk of disappearing

Labor and the Left
From NYU, archived web sites arranged in topical collections