Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top 5 E-journals
Note: These links lead you to all the Duke options for each journal. Check the dates of coverage for each option to choose the one that suits your needs.
Top Article Databases
Use the library databases for academic material:
Political Science Complete
The place to start for Poltical Science and Public Policy journal articles. Top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Covers law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
ProQuest Political Science
Covers political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, with full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Some overlap with PS Complete; also some unique content.
Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, some government publications.
Journal articles, working papers, policy briefs, and books on international affairs
IHS Global Insight
See the Country Reports for economic profiles, political structure, and analysis
U.S. legislation and related documents, including CRS Reports. Members section has biographical, financial, and voting records of Senators and Representatives.
CQ Electronic Library
CQ journals, databases, and encyclopedias for analysis of Congressional actions and US political issues. Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher.
A well-respected journal of US political analysis. See esp.: Blogs/Influence Alley; Congress; Magazine.
Use Advanced Search for best results.
Database with US government documents from all branches, law review articles, and primary source materials, focusing on comprehensive retrospective coverage unavailable elsewhere.