LibGuides: Market Reports and Patentability Research Course Guide for Engineers: Databases for Patent Searching

Databases for Patent Search at Duke University Libraires

Below is a list of relevant research databases through the libraries that can be used to search for patent literature.

Description: Derwent Innovation is a powerful tool for assessing patentability, especially when you're evaluating novelty, inventive step, and prior art.

Link: https://duke.is/dii
- Provides access to a curated patent database with editorially curated titles and abstracts.
- Allows users to search indexes backward and forward patent and literature citations.
- Offers full-text access
- Integrates with the full text of patents from various patent authorities, including translations for major authorities such as China, Korea, and Japan.
- AI-Driven Smart Search: Offers users the ability to use AI technology to assist with novelty and FTO searches.

** Video Tutorial ** Patent Searching using Derwent Index Innovations

Description: SciFinder can be a powerful tool for assessing patentability by helping you identify whether an invention or concept is novel, non-obvious, and not already disclosed in prior art.
Link: https://duke.is/scifinder
- Comprehensive Search Options: Allows you to complete comprehensive searches for patents using keywords, substance names, CAS Registry Numbers, patent numbers, or chemical structures.
- Markush Structure Searches: Supports searching for Markush structures used in patents and is useful to finding patents covering broad chemical variations.
- PatentPak Integration: Provides full-text access to difficult to find full-text patents.
- Patent Activity: Allows users to analyze patenting activity in specific fields and can help identify potential collaborators, licensing opportunities, and regions where freedom-to-operate might exist.

** Video Tutorial ** Searching in CAS SciFinder