QuadEx Resources

• Blackburn, William. The Architecture of Duke University. Durham: Duke University Press, various editions. (print copies or digitized copy)
• Duke University: Directory of Buildings and Landscapes. Durham: Duke Facilities Management, 2013. (print copy or online copy)

Discovery Question: Take a look at the appendices to The Architecture of Duke University. What helpful information can you find there?

• Building reference collection, 1972-ongoing: This collection contains brief folders on a number of Duke buildings and landscapes. Note also folders on campus decorations, statues, and other features. Although the collection's dates start with 1972, the collection covers much older buildings--1972 simply refers to the date of the earliest document in the collection.

Discovery Question: Browse through the collection guide to the Building reference collection (click the link above). Where are the folders on the East Campus dorms? What about West Campus dorms?

• Blue Devil reference collection, 1972-ongoing: everything you ever wanted to know about the evolution of the Blue Devil!
• Signs & Symbols reference collection, 1972-ongoing: folders on the history of Duke colors, Duke's shield and seal, and . . . THE DUKE MACE!

Discovery Question: In the Blue Devil reference collection, choose a document from the "History" folder. On the UA's Flickr site or in the Chanticleer (see links at left), can you locate a photo of the Blue Devil from around the same time as your document?

Your group may also want to become familiar with Duke's Brand Guide, which offers guidance on Duke-approved logos, colors, fonts, and more.

Discovery Question:Check out the Duke Brand Guide and then take a look at your Duke Libraries sticker. How does the sticker use the elements of the Brand Guide?

You may also want to try searching the digitized issues of the Chronicle (see links at left) for more about these past living groups.

Discovery Question: Browse through the collection guide for this collection. What does this icon  mean? 

The University Archives has several photo collections, although we're going to focus on two in particular in our sessions. Ask Amy or Val if you're not locating photos of something that you need!

• University Archives photograph collection, 1861-ongoing: this is a HUGE collection, and it's organized into three sections: People, Activities, and Buildings. For the most part, the photos in this collection date through the mid-1980s. Ask Amy or Val if you need more recent photos (or check Flickr; see links at left)--we have them in another collection!
• Duke University Progress Pictures collection, 1925-1932: These are just fun! As East Campus was being redone and West Campus was being building, the contractors took photos of the work every few weeks--so this is a photographic way to see how the construction progressed! 

Our Flickr site--which contains over 3,000 Duke photos--is a great resource, particularly if you need to quickly find photos that are available online. The "albums," which are organized around topics, can help you navigate through the photos, or the site is searchable by keyword.

Note that the Chanticleer (see links at left) is also a good source for photos!

Discovery Question: In the University Archives photograph collection folder for Crowell Residence Hall (or here on the UA's Flickr site), you'll find photos of the Crowell clock decorated to look like Mickey Mouse. Try searching in the digitized issues of the Chronicle (see link at left; this happened in 1979) to learn more about this prank!

In addition to the Duke-focused collections of the University Archives, the Rubenstein Library contains a number of historical books and studies--often with illustrations--about plants and animals from all over the world. We'll be working with a few examples in our sessions, but the guided questions below will show you strategies for locating others.

• Catesby, Mark. The natural history of Carolina, Florida and the Bahama islands: containing the figures of birds, beasts, fishes, serpents, insects, and plants: particularly the forest-trees, shrubs, and other plants, not hitherto described, or very incorrectly figured by authors. London: 1731-43, 2 vols.

Discovery Question: From the Rubenstein Library catalog, perform an author search for "Catesby, Mark." Which result corresponds to the volumes above?

• Greenaway, Kate. Language of flowers. London: George Routledge and Sons, [1884]
• Hale, Sarah Josepha. Flora's interpreter: and Fortuna flora. Boston: B. Mussey, 1850, c1848.

Discovery Question: Click on the link to the catalog record of either book above. Within the catalog record, locate the related subjects. Click on a related subject that seems pertinent to your research. What do you find?

Our collection of campus maps can be a little tricky to find: they're in Box 13 of the Flat File Shift Project collection. (Basically, they're being cataloged, so this is a temporary catalog record for them). There's no collection guide available online, so you'll simply want to place a request for Box 13, dig in in the reading room, and see what you can find! 

When you're in the reading room, remind the desk staff that you'll be looking at oversized maps and will want to use one of our two larger tables. The staff can also help you with lifting and moving around the maps if you need it!

Your group may also be interested in looking at maps of Durham. Digital Durham's maps section and North Carolina Maps are two great sources for those.

Discovery Question: Can you locate something on a map--a building or landscape, a campus office or program, etc.--that you're not familiar with? Try searching on its name in the Chronicle (see links at left) and see if you can find information about it.

• Facilities Management Department Records, 1990-2006

Discovery Question: Review the collection guide for the FMD records. Can you locate a folder of architectural drawings for your quad's spaces? If not, let's talk about other ways to locate architectural drawings for those spaces!