LibGuides: SOCIOL 490: Learning from Outliers: Business/Entrepreneurship

Social Entrepreneurship

Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs
From the US Census Bureau, providing data on economic and demographic characteristics of businesses and their owners.
BBC People Fixing the World
Food for thought: these podcasts involve out-of-the-box solutions to pressing world problems. Formerly called "World Hacks."
Social Enterprise and Social Entrepreneurship
From the Free Management Library.

Research Reports

NOTE: there are many market research reports online. Duke and Fuqua have access to some, but not all. Due to the cost of these reports, we can't purchase them for your research. Please contact reference-librarians@fuqua.duke.edu to see if there are similar reports available from our databases.

Marketline Advantage - Contains full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.
S&P Global NetAdvantage - Provides analysis on US industry sectors including Airlines, Biotechnology, Household Durables, and Telecommunications.
Business Monitor International - International research report archive of BMI research on 175 countries expanding at over 7,600 economic/political country reports and 2,120 industry sector reports each year.
IBISWorld - Provides an extensive collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries. Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics.
MarketResearch.com Academic - includes full-text market research reports on : Consumer Goods, Heavy Industry, Service Industries, the Public Sector, Life Sciences, Technology & Media, and Demographics.
Mintel Market Intelligence - Mintel produces some 600 market research reports into European, UK-specific and US consumer markets every year. Industries covered include: Automotive, Beauty and Personal, Clothing and Fashion, Drink, Electronics, Food and Foodservice, Health and Medical, Health and Wellness, Household, International Reports, Internet and Retailing, Leisure, Lifestyles, Snacking/On the Go, and Travel.
Passport - A source of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics and research reports for over 200 countries. Provides volume and value market size data for 330 consumer products across 49 countries.

Research and Data

Entrepreneurship Database
Search for reports, articles, and video clips related to business and entrepreneurship
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Search for articles related to entrepreneurship and small business
IBISWorld
Search for industry market research reports and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries
Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Duke's subscribed content includes: Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, iExpert Summary Reports, US Specialized Super Niche Industry Reports (Current & Future), and China Industry Reports.
Passport
A source of demographic, economic, and marketing statistics and research reports for over 200 countries. Provides volume and value market size data for 330 consumer products across 49 countries.
Duke also has access to the following supplementary modules on Passport: Sustainability (new), Industrial, Product Claims & Positioning, Sports, Cannabis & Economies & Consumers.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Search for journal articles, trade journals and market research reports with business and economic information
Business Source Complete
Search for articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. Includes Political Risk Yearbooks.
Political Risk Yearbooks provide probability forecasts for political, social and economic trends for 100 countries, and are included in Business Source Complete since 2003. In the "Publication" field in the Advanced Search, search for Political Risk Yearbook and the name of the country.

Business Formation Statistics (BFS)
From the US Census Bureau, the BFS provide timely and high frequency information on new business applications and formations in the United States.
Business Management Research
PDF research reports from the Conference Board on general topics related to business, economics and markets including: Boards of Directors, Branding, Compensation, Executives, Supply Chain Management
Small Business Administration
US government agency.
STAT-USA
Access to government-sponsored business, economic, and trade information, sponsored by the University of Central Florida.

Firm-Level Financial Data

For firm-level financial detail, public corporations traded in the US are required to submit data to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Their EDGAR service is the source of the corporate financials repackaged by commercial data providers.

You can also search these databases for additional analysis and all of these sources provide tabular download options.

S&P Global NetAdvantage
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.

LSEG Workspace
LSEG Workspace contains market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. LSEG Workspace replaces Thomson ONE and provides access to similar content.
Ford Library's Database Terms of Use apply to LSEG Workspace. You may retain data downloaded from LSEG Workspace for only as long as: 1) you are enrolled or employed at Duke; and 2) only as long as Duke maintains an active subscription to the product. Students may lose access at the end of the academic year in May.

Key Data Sources

S&P Global NetAdvantage
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
SimplyAnalytics
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using more than 100,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.
Statista
Search for downloadable statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Finaeon
Find data on long time series of stock and bond indices and macroeconomic data. Previously named Global Financial Data.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. SEC Filings & forms (EDGAR)
Search for electronic filings from 1994 to the Securities and Exchange Commission that are available to the public. This is an open access database.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
WRDS is a data portal providing access to more than 50 datasets from various providers covering finance, accounting, economics, management, marketing, banking, insurance, and more.
LSEG Workspace
LSEG Workspace contains market data, company financials and filings, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. LSEG Workspace replaces Thomson ONE and provides access to similar content.
Ford Library's Database Terms of Use apply to LSEG Workspace. You may retain data downloaded from LSEG Workspace for only as long as: 1) you are enrolled or employed at Duke; and 2) only as long as Duke maintains an active subscription to the product. Students may lose access at the end of the academic year in May.