Welcome to Duke University Libraries Biology 495 Guide! This guide highlights some key resources for finding literature in Biology. Use the side navigation links to explore in-depth guides on resources, literature reviews, and citation management.
Looking for more? Check out our guides for related fields like Biostatistics guide and Biomedical Engineering. Have questions or feedback? Reach out to Hannah Rozear, your Biology librarian, or schedule a Zoom consultation through the Appointment Scheduler. For data inquiries, email askdata@duke.edu.
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals
Search for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and reports in the life sciences. Includes citation tools
Search for articles on all all aspects of zoological research dating back to 1864
Search for chemistry-related literature, patents, and substance and reaction data. NEW USERS: You must create an account here to begin using Scifinder-n.
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
Getting the Full-Text of Articles
Some databases only provide abstracts and not the full-text of articles. Look for the Get It @ Duke button 
or a link labeled "full text" near an article citation and click on it to see if the library provides online access. Highly recommend installing the Libkey Nomad browser extension for instant access to PDFs.
Interlibrary Request
If the library doesn't provide access to a particular article or book, you can still get it through interlibrary request. For each article or book, fill out the form. The same service provides books and print journals that are in Duke's off-site storage.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
Most online library databases and journals can be accessed off-campus via proxy server. You will need to connect to these electronic resources using your NetID and password. Details are here.
Library Privileges for Undergraduate Honors Students
While working on honors theses, undergraduates have many of the same privileges as graduate students, including extended loan periods and dedicated study space. Details are here.
