Welcome to the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University's primary source library. Included in the Rubenstein Library's collections are titles related to the history of medicine, reproductive rights, anatomy, infectious disease, health and advocacy in the Latino community, Latin America and Spanish speaking areas. Related collections and book titles can be found in Spanish, English, or a mixture of both languages. 
Formats include books, manuscript collections, periodicals, news clippings, photos, scrapbooks
Please use the online catalog to search for items related to You may search by:
If looking for titles in Spanish, click on the "Language" tab on the left hand side of the catalog and choose your desired language.
The History of Medicine Collections at the Rubenstein Library contains over 20,000 rare print items including books and journals and hundreds of artifacts. The History of Medicine Collections acquires, preserves, interprets, and makes available for research and instruction, materials documenting the history of medicine, biomedical science, health and disease in the global context of the Western medical tradition. The collection seeks to bring historical perspectives to bear on contemporary health issues and to facilitate an interdisciplinary understanding of the history of medicine.
Also housed within the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library are many other collections that will appeal to those interested in studying the history of medicine and health in the in Latino community, Latin America and Spanish speaking areas. Be sure to view research guides available from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History, the John Hope Franklin Research Center, and the Human Rights Archive as these all have potentially relevant collection items for history of medicine scholars.
