Citing Primary Sources

• Item creator & description: James A. Whitted to Charles N. Hunter
• Item Date: 10 September 1890
• Item location: Box 1, folder 4, Correspondence, 1871-1891
• Collection name: Charles N. Hunter Papers
• Repository: David M. Rubenstein Rare Book  & Manuscript Library, Duke University

Chicago-Style Note

          1. James A. Whitted to Charles N. Hunter, 10 September 1890, box 1, folder 4, Correspondence, 1871-1891, Charles N. Hunter Papers, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

See CMOS 14.228 for more on citing letters (Duke NetID required).

• Item creator & description: Duke Blue Devil Doll    
• Item Date: n.d.
• Item location: Box 57
• Collection name:  Artifacts and Relics Collection
• Repository: Duke University Archives, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book  & Manuscript Library, Duke University

Chicago-Style Note

         2. Duke Blue Devil Doll, n.d., Box 57, Artifacts and Relics Collection, Duke University Archives, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

Modern manuscript collections often include copies of publications. It is important to provide a proper citation for the publication itself as well as the manuscript collection you found it in.

• Item creator & description : Redevelopment Commission of the City of Durham, North Carolina, You and Urban Renewal (Chapel Hill, N.C.: City Planning and Architectural Associates, n.d., ca. 1962)
• Item location: Box AS-15, Urban Renewal, 1957-1962 folder 2
• Collection name: Asa and Elna Spaulding Papers
• Holding Library: David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University

Chicago-style Note

         3. Redevelopment Commission of the City of Durham, North Carolina, You and Urban Renewal. (Chapel Hill, N.C.: City Planning and Architectural Associates, n.d., ca. 1962),  Box AS-15, Urban Renewal, 1957-1962 folder 2, Asa and Elna Spaulding Papers, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

• Item creator & description: The Coalition for a Women’s Center at Duke, Proposal, Task Force on a Duke University Women’s Center
• Item date: [1987]
• Item location: Box 2, Coalition for a Women’s Center at Duke folder
• Collection name: Student Organization Reference Collection
• Holding Library: Duke University Archives, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University

Chicago-style Note

        4. The Coalition to Create a Women’s Center at Duke, Proposal, Task Force on a Duke University Women’s Center, [1987], Box 2, Coalition for a Women’s Center at Duke folder, Student Organization Reference Collection, Duke University Archives, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

• Item creator & description: Joseph McNeill, interview by William Chafe, transcript
• Item date: 1978 [if you have the month and day include that as well]
• Item location: Box 2, folder 4
• Collection name: William Henry Chafe Oral History collection
• Holding Library: David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

Chicago-style Note

        5. Joseph McNeill, interview by William Chafe, transcript, 1978, box 2, folder 4, William Henry Chafe Oral History Collection, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

For further guidance, see CMOS 14.211: Unpublished Interviews (Duke NetID required).

• Item creator & description: William Gedney, Brooklyn Bridge, circa 1959, photograph, 13.50 x 19 7/8 in.
• Item location: Box 17, Folder 6, Print RL10032-P-0008-0071-27
• Collection name: William Gedney Photograph and Papers
• Holding Library: David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

Chicago-style Note

      6. William Gedney, Brooklyn Bridge, circa 1959, photograph, 13.50 x 19 7/8 in., box 17, folder 6, print RL10032-P-0008-0071-27, William Gedney Photograph and Papers, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.

For further guidance, see CMOS 14.235: Paintings, photographs, and sculptures (Duke NetID required).