Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use China & Advertising as subject keywords
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Use China & Advertising as keywords
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for China & Advertising as keywords in abstract
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for China & Advertising, limit to "only content I have access to"; further limit to "book" or "Journal"
China Academic Journals (中国知网期刊库) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China. Duke users have access to Literature/History Philosophy (Series F), Politics/Military Affairs/Law (Series G), Education & Social Sciences (Series H), and Economics & Management (Series J).
Duxiu Knowledge Search Database (读秀知识库) This link opens in a new window
Search for 3 million digitized books published in the PRC.
Books in English and Chinese
Search in the library catalog for subject " Advertising -- China", will bring books in both languages. See some examples
Brand New China by
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2010-04-10
The book offers a unique perspective on the advertising and marketing culture of China.
Mindmapping China by
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2010-04-13
The book is designed to help western marketers in China with translation problems in advertising campaigns.
Call Number: HF5823 .Z46 2017
Advertising in China : Statistics & Facts
Advertising is a billion business in China. As the second-largest market in the global advertising after the United States, China was expected to generate over 16 billion U.S dollars of ad spending between 2018 and 2021.
Subject Librarian for Chinese Studies
Duke unique collections
The John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History is a centralized repository focused on primary sources documenting the history of advertising & marketing. The Center houses the collections of other key companies, including the J. Walter Thompson Company Archives, trade associations, and individuals. Our collections are housed in the David M. Rudenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library.