LibGuides: Medieval & Renaissance Studies: Getting Started Databases for Articles

Key Databases for Medieval Studies

Summary Annotated Bibliographies provide excellent introductions to topics in Medieval Studies. You will find titles of books and articles, with a summary of the content. It can be helpful to read an introduction to you topic before searching in catalog and databases

L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly works related to the language, literature, history, and culture in ancient Greece and Rome
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books on history of the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth
Brepolis International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale This link opens in a new window
Includes records from the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) and Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BCM). IMB is a multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500). BCM covers all aspects of history, language and literature, philosophy and theology, art history, archaeology, and so forth in the Western, Byzantine and Islamic world.
Please note: Duke does not have access to records from International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR).
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Search for journals on all topics in the European Renaissance (1300-1700) and the medieval period (400-1500).
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Duke University This link opens in a new window
Search for doctoral dissertations by Duke University authors

General Databases

How to find more databases:

Check Databases A - Z and search by Subject

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, reports and conference proceedings for many subjects
British Periodicals Collection I This link opens in a new window
Search for journal and magazine articles from British publications from the late 17th century to the early 20th century in a wide variety of disciplines
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities, fine arts, and performance arts
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Key Databases for Medieval Studies

General Databases

Contact Us

Services for...