18th Century Collections19th Century Collections20th Century Collections
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Highlights from Women's History Manuscript Collections at the Rubenstein Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Highlights from Women's History Manuscript Collections at the Rubenstein Library  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/womenshistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Image of the publication, Work Clothes for Women

Business & Labor
These collections document women's contributions to the work force as laborers, entrepreneurs, and organizers. Included are the papers of individual women who were successful in various businesses and professions; plantation, business and corporate records which can be used to study the social history of working women; and records of individuals and groups influential in organizing or educating women workers.

Image of the publication, The I Hate to Cook Book

Domestic & Social Life
Abundant collections of diaries, correspondence, and related materials document the social life and customs, family relationships and routine domestic chores of women in the home. These collections represent a wide range of economic classes and geographic locations.

Image of publication about Martin Luther King and The Montgomery Story

Public Service & Social Reform
These collections include the personal papers of women and the records of women's organizations dedicated to serving and improving society. Additional materials can be found in large collections of family papers where the women belonged to philanthropic social clubs, or in the papers of public officials, newspaper editors, and clergy. Together, these materials cover a wide range of social causes and political issues of local, regional and national significance and concern women who were employed, elected or volunteered.

Church congregation

Religion
Materials in this category contain considerable information on women's religious experiences and activities. Holdings are particularly strong in documenting personal spiritual struggles and women's involvement in Protestant religious organizations.

Nurses sitting at a table studying

Science & Medicine
Collections listed in this category include the personal papers of women working in science and medical professions as well as those collections that document common medical practice during a certain time period. Additional information on childbirth, home remedies, and routine medical practices are often found in women's diaries, letters, and recipe books.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Wooten
Contact Info
Reference Librarian,
Sallie Bingham Center for
Women's History and Culture
Librarian for Sexuality Studies

Phone: 919.660.5967
Send Email

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Laura Micham
Contact Info
Merle Hoffman Director, Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
Perkins Library
Room 206H
919.660.5828
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip