Last Updated: Oct 28, 2014
The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.
Click on the Get it at Duke link to access online resources.
- ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Use the scripture button to search specific scriptures.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
- Ministry Matters
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers.
- Old Testament Abstracts
A primary resource of bibliographic information for the study of the Hebrew Bible. Indexes journal articles, books, collected essays and Festschriften; 1978 to date.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Database of ebooks from Oxford University Press and a number of other university presses. Contains 1100+ books on religion, biblical studies, early christianity, and more.
- The Bible in English
The Bible in English contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations
- Society of Biblical Literature Text-Critical Resources Web Page
On this web page, members who log in will find the reading text (the upper text without critical apparatus) of four GBS editions available in several file formats, including downloadable PDFs and texts viewable via a GBS online platform:
• Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia, 5th revised edition
• Septuaginta, edited by Alfred Rahlfs, 2nd revised edition
• Biblical Sacra luxta Vulgatam Versionem, 5th revised edition
• UBS Greek New Testament, 4th revised edition
Also available on this web page are links to the SBL Fonts and the SBL Greek New Testament.
- Bible Odyssey
Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).