This is the "Public Companies" page of the "Company and Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company and Industry Research   Tags: business, companies, economics, industries, markets and management studies  

Last Updated: Jun 11, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/company Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Public Companies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Public Companies

A public company has shares of stock that represent an ownership interest in the company and those shares are traded openly on one or more stock exchange like the NASDQ or NYSE. Public Companies in the United States must file various forms and documents with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission detailing their financial performance and governance structure. Because of these regulatory requirements, information on many public companies is relatively easy to find.

See also: Private company research

 

Ticker Symbol

Hint: Knowing the ticker symbol (or stock symbol) of the public company that you are researching can save you a lot of time when researching public companies.

What is a ticker symbol?

A ticker symbol is an abbreviation that symbolizes the companies' stock name. For example, Cisco Systems has CSCO as its ticker symbol. Find the ticker symbol for a company.

 

Lists of Companies

Hoover's Online Pro

Includes extensive company officer lists and annual and quarterly financials for over 50,000 companies. IPO filings, prices, and statistics under IPO Central section.

Tip: Use "Build A List" to create ranked lists by criteria including company, industry, company location, and company size.

OneSource

Worldwide company and industry profiles, financials, and analysts reports, as well as business related articles, executive biographies, links to company home pages, and trade press articles. Most data is downloadable in Excel format.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Financial information covering corporate research, competitive analysis, investment information, and industry analysis. Provides the full text of the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.

 

Company Profiles

Hoover's Online Pro

Hoover's Online Pro provides company information plus extensive company officer lists, annual and quarterly financials, with a comprehensive overview of more than 50,000 companies. IPO filings, prices, and statistics under IPO Central section.

OneSource

A comprehensive database that provides worldwide company and industry profiles, financials and analysts reports, as well as business related articles, executive biographies, links to company home pages, and trade press articles. -- Most data is downloadable in Excel format.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

A comprehensive database of financial information, covering corporate research, competitive analysis, investment information, and industry analysis. Provides the full text of the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Get comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks. Use Morningstar’s Stock Screener to screen stocks by more than 470 performance indicators.

 

Articles and News

Business Source Complete

A comprehensive database providing full-text access to news articles and scholarly articles on companies.

ABI/Inform Complete

ABI/INFORM Complete contains historical business journals, local and regional business information, scholarly, comprehensive business research from periodicals worldwide and up-to-date company news, marketing trends, product information and market competition.

Factiva

Includes almost 8000 publications including major business periodicals such as BusinessWeek, Barron's, Fortune, Forbes, and the Wall Street Journal.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides the full text of over 6,000 sources including newspapers, journals, news wire services, newsletters, campus publications, company reports, case law, government documents, trade publications, broadcast transcripts, and selected reference works.

 

Financials

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

A comprehensive database of financial information, covering corporate research, competitive analysis, and investment information. Provides the full text of the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.

Thomson ONE Banker

Includes comprehensive financial data on U.S. and international public companies. Offers business profiles, officer information, subsidiaries, annual and quarterly financials, earnings estimates, 15 minute-delayed stock quotes and graphs, real-time SEC filings from EDGAR, and annual reports. Also includes analyst research, earnings estimates, deal information, and institutional ownership.

 

Company History

Hoover's Online Pro

Hoover's Online Pro provides company histories with a comprehensive overview of more than 50,000 companies.

Hint: Once you arrive at the summary page for your chosen company, click the 'History' link on the menu on the left-hand-side.

Proquest Historical Annual Reports
Offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip