LibGuides: Company and Industry Research: Industries

News and Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on management, finance, economics, industry, accounting, and international business from popular business magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. Includes Political Risk Yearbooks.
Political Risk Yearbooks provide probability forecasts for political, social and economic trends for 100 countries, and are included in Business Source Complete since 2003. In the "Publication" field in the Advanced Search, search for Political Risk Yearbook and the name of the country.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, trade journals and market research reports with business and economic information
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes almost 8000 publications including major business periodicals such as BusinessWeek, Barron's, Fortune, Forbes, and the Wall Street Journal.
Text & data mining prohibited by license. See the "more" link for details.
Tip: Select "search" from the top-left-corner, then narrow the search by industry (click on the "+ Industry" drop-down menu). Additionally, click on the "+ Subject" to access Editor's Choice - Industry Trends/Analysis. Search for global news and information content, including Dow Jones, Reuters Newswires, and The Wall Street Journal.
Text and data mining (TDM) of Factiva content is prohibited by license. TDM includes mass downloading of content via scripts (aka scraping) *and* via Factiva's internal tools for downloading content. Please use ProQuest's TDM Studio for text mining.

Research Reports and Statistics

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P Global NetAdvantage is a subset of content available within S&P Capital IQ. It includes S&P Industry Surveys, equity & industry research, mutual fund information, executive and director listings, and CFRA Outlook - a weekly stock and industry newsletter.
A database covering a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search for industry market research reports and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries
Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Duke's subscribed content includes: Core NAICS US Industry Market Research Reports, iExpert Summary Reports, US Specialized Super Niche Industry Reports (Current & Future), and China Industry Reports.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Search for full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.
MarketsandMarkets Knowledge Store This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed niche market research reports on current mega trends and industries; including but not limited to: AI, Big Data & Analytics, Blockchain, IoT, Nanotechnology, and Wearables. Covered industries include Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Banking, Agriculture and more.
Current Duke students, faculty, and staff have search and read-only access to reports in the MarketsandMarkets Knowledge Store. Users can request up to 3 full-text reports per month for academic use only by completing a request form linked from the database information page
Mintel Academic (Reports & Trends) This link opens in a new window
Search for market research reports about European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. Requires free registration.
Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Search for reports related to industry financial analysis benchmarks and industry market trends
Industry Financial Reports analyze 5,500 lines of business and up to a dozen sales classes at US, state and metro levels. Industry market reports cover 9,000 business segments in market areas as small as a single zip code or as large as the US

Economic Census
Provides very detailed statistics about individual industries, which can be viewed by state; updated every 5 years. Does not cover individual companies within an industry.
Industry Economic Accounts
Detailed statistics on industries, updated more often than Economic Census data, but often without as much geographic detail.

Finding Companies in an Industry

Hoover's Company Profiles
Through ProQuest's Business Market Research Collection (choose Document type = Company Profile). Covers more than 40,000 public and non-public companies. Includes location, summary financials, top officers, top competitors, and industry analysis.

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Searchable database with directory information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses. Can search by SIC or NAICS industry classifications.
TECH NOTE: if you experience "redirect" or "Invalid URL Path" errors, and are off-campus, enable a Library Resources VPN connection and browse directly to: https://www.referenceusa.com/. On campus users may browse directly to https://www.referenceusa.com/
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Can search for businesses in a certain location, by keyword or NAICS code.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.

Company and Industry Research: Industries

News and Articles

Research Reports and Statistics

Finding Companies in an Industry

Contact Us

Services for...