Skip to main content

ARTHIST 295 : Chinese Art 1900 to Present: Chinese Art

Some Starting points

Start with the reference sources:

Chinese Art:

Chinese History:

Books on Chinese Art

Search Duke University Catalog & TRLN & Worldcat together or seperately for books. The following are some sugested subject keywords:

  • Art, China
  • Art, China Exhibitions
  • Art, Chinese
  • Art, Chinese 20th century
  • Avant-garde, China
  • Art, Taiwan
  • Art, Taiwan 20th century
  • Art, China Hong Kong
  • Catalogs (can be combined with other keywords like "Art China Catalogs")

Tip: When you find a good title, look at its subject and use that to further search in order to find titles on the same subject.

Databases

Databases:

  • ARTstor
    Provides access to a large collection of images covering art, architecture, and archaeology for many time periods and cultures. Users must register to save images, add personal notes, and view images offline.
  • AP images
    Historical and contemporary images dating back more than 100 years. Coverage includes moments in history, news, entertainment, fashion, and sports images from The Associated Press and a diverse selection of content partners such as the UK Press Association, VII, Women’s Wear Daily, and many newspapers around the country. 
  • Art Index Retrospective
    Journal articles in art from 1929-1984
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies 
    Index database on scholarly literature on Asia in Western languages
  • JSTOR
    Full text database of archived academic journals. There're links to images in Jstor and ARTstor

Journals on Asian Arts

All holdings are complete unless specified. Titles marked with * are in JSTOR.  The print versions are housed in Lilly.

  • Ars Orientalis; the Arts of Islam and the East  * Co-sponsored by the Department of the History of Art, University of Michigan, and the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution. It is an annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archaeology of Asia.
  • Archives of Asian Art * Devoted to the arts of Asia. Each issue presents articles by leading scholars and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums during the previous year.
  • Artibus Asiae  * has scholarly articles and research notes devoted to the history of art and archaeology of Asia. Begun in 1925, it is now published by the Museum Rietberg Zurich in cooperation with the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery , Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.
  • Artibus Asiae. Supplementum * The series Artibus Asiae Supplementum complements the journal and has a broad range of lavishly illustrated studies
  • Art Asia Pacific  1993/94 - present; some issues missing
  • Arts Asiatiques 1954 - present
  • Asian Arts
  • The Asian Art Newspaper
  • Oriental art From Britain, it has research articles on Chinese, and other Asian art, including articles on the art of Buddhism, Hinduism and Islam.
  • Orientations from Hong Kong, it is for collectors and connoisseurs of Asian art offering information on the arts of East Asia, the Indian Subcontinent and Southeast Asia and provides insights into the international Asian art market.
  • Yishu, journal of Contemporary Chinese Art (online from 2012), print from 2003

Subject Librarian for China

Luo Zhou
Contact:
Office: Bostock 229

Tel: 919-660-5803

Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.