Skip to main content

Pastoral Theology-Care and Psychology: Online Resources

This guide provides resources for practical theology that responds to the suffering and everyday situations of people's lives.

Research in Social Sciences

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • JSTOR
    Searchable archive of the major academic research journals across the humanities and social sciences.
  • America: History and Life
    Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Provides the full text of over 6,000 sources including newspapers, journals, news wire services, newsletters, and broadcast transcripts.
  • GenderWatch
    Collection of over 140 sources devoted to women's studies and gender issues.
  • Black Studies Center 
    Contains Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
  • Chicano Database
    Focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.

Databases

Journal of Pastoral Care and Counseling
Provides the full text of articles of both scholarly and reflective literature on pastoral and spiritual care, counseling, psychotherapy, education, and research.

 Pastoral Psychology
One of the oldest and most well established academic journals in the field of psychology and religion/spirituality, Pastoral Psychology is a peer reviewed journal that offers an international interdisciplinary forum for the publication of original papers that discuss the work of caring for, understanding, and exploring human beings as persons, in families, in small groups, and in community.

ATLA Religion Database

Indexes journals and book essays in religion and pastoral theology.

Journal of Psychology and Christianity The official publication of the Christian Association for Psychological Studies the articles in this journal focus on clinical topics, research, theoretical issues and special theme areas.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature. Search using "Pastoral Theology" or "Pastoral Care".

Journal of Pastoral Theology

Official publication of the Society for Pastoral Theology.

Journal of Spirituality in Mental Health

Formerly known as the American Journal of Pastoral Counseling, this peer-reviewed quarterly journal seeks to enhance the understanding of spirituality as a core component of human well-being in individual, relational, and communal life

 Journal of Ministry in Addiction and Recovery

The Journal of Ministry in Addiction & Recovery is designed for both pastoral caregivers involved with services and programs for addicted clients and also for substance abuse treatment centers that are interested in expanding their services to include pastoral/ministry services as a part of the team approach.

 Journal of Religion, Spirituality, and Aging

Articles on the practices, theories, and data on religion and spirituality, as well as the latest views on ethical issues, grief, death, long-term care, retirement and counseling.

 Journal of Religious Gerontology

The Journal of Religious Gerontology is an interdisciplinary, interfaith professional journal in which the needs, aspirations, and resources of aging constituencies are documented in peer reviewed articles.

Ministry Matters

Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers