The Cuban Rafter PhenomenonModerate Cuban PoliticsTangoCrypto-Jews / AnusimDictators In Their Own Words
MusicHistoryGovernment and LawCurrent Events and News ArchivesTraveling Brazil
This is the "The Cuban Rafter Phenomenon" page of the "Latin American & Caribbean Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American & Caribbean Studies   Tags: caribbean, latin_american, latin_american_studies, subjectguide  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/latinamericanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

The Cuban Rafter Phenomenon Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A Selected Bibliography

Compiled by: Holly Ackerman, Ph.D., Librarian for Latin American, Iberian & Latino Studies, Duke University Libraries

Content of the Bibliography

The primary selection criterion for inclusion in this bibliography is the extent to which each item treats the subject of rafting. All or a substantial portion of the work must be dedicated to the rafter phenomenon.

Second, the material needs to be based in direct experience or, for non-participant authors, to be well grounded theoretically and methodologically.  Basically, any participant in events who has published is included. The reason for this is simply to give readers detailed description from the rafters themselves and to draw attention to hard to find materials that researchers might otherwise be unable to locate. Testimonial accounts are marked with an asterisk (*).

Formats include: non-fiction books, journal articles, dissertations, film, archives, government publications, occasional papers, reports & proceedings.

Journalistic production on this subject is so extensive that it is impossible to gather and evaluate this category. The same is true of the extensive literature on the case of rafter Elián González and on the Mariel Boatlift.  This bibliography is a living thing and readers are encouraged to submit citations that may have been overlooked to holly.ackerman@duke.edu . The author will update the bibliography at intervals. It was last updated in August 2013.

 


“Diaspora,” by artist Leandro Soto.

Bibliographical Categories

Books     -     Dissertations      -     Films & Videos     -     Public Documents      -     Journal Articles      -     Occasional Papers     -     Archives

      
     

    Books

    * Indicates a book of testimony written by a rafter or social services provider who worked directly with rafters or participants in the rafter crisis.

    • Abella, Rosa M. and Dolores F. Rovirosa. 1999. Febrero 24, 1996 Derribo de dos avionetas: Bibliografía. Miami: Cuban Heritage Collection, University of Miami.

    • Hernández Díaz, Alejandro, and Dick Cluster. 1998. The Cuban Mile. Pittsburgh, PA: Latin American Literary Review Press.

    • Morgado, Marcia, and Juan Abreu. 1993. Rafts. Miami, FL: LOMA Publishers.

    • Ochoa, Ernesto. 1995. Balseros. Coral Gables, FL: North-South Center, University of Miami, Iberian Studies Institute.

    • Ortega, Luís. 1998. Cubanos en Miami. La Habana: Editorial de Ciencias Sociales.

    • *Roque, Juan Pablo. 1995. Desertor. Miami: Cuban-American National Foundation.

    • *Vázquez Fernández, Carmen. 1999. Balseros cubanos. Madrid, España: Editorial Betania.

     


                                                   

    Back to TOP

     

    Dissertations

    Most dissertations can be found in full text in the database Proquest Dissertations, available at most university libraries

    • Ackerman, Holly. 1996. Mass Migration, Nonviolent Social Action, and the Cuban Raft Exodus, 1959-1994: An Analysis of Citizen Motivation and International Politics. Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Miami.
    • Álvarez, Sandra Dalis. 2001. Getting a Head Start on Assimilation: An Analysis of Cuban American Women in a Head Start Program.Ph.D. Dissertation, Kansas State University.
    • Anderson, Brown McIntosh 1996.  Negotiated transitions: The role of a voluntary resettlement agency in the labor incorporation of Cuban refugees. M.A. dissertation, Georgia State University.
    • *Campisi, Elizabeth. 2008. Guantánamo: Culture, Trauma and the Cuban Rafter Crisis of 1994-1996. Ph.D. Dissertation, State University of New York at Albany.
    • Clark, Juan M. 1976. The Exodus from Revolutionary Cuba (1959-1974): A Sociological Analysis. Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Florida Gainesville.
    • Greenhill, Kelly. 2003. People Pressure: Strategic Engineered Migration as an Instrument of Statecraft  and the Rise of the Human Rights Regime. Ph.D. dissertation, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
    • Henken, Theodore A. 1998. Cuban and Mexican Migration to the United States: Refugee Flows and Labor Migration in the Modern World System. M.A. Thesis, Tulane University.
    • Lima, Maritza. 1997. Day Treatment Program for Cuban Rafter Refugee Children-focus: Treatment for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder and Prevention of Acculturation Stress. Psy.D. Dissertation, Caribbean Center for Advanced Studies. Miami Institute of Psychology.
    • Miller, Gretchen.  2003.  A Cuban Refugee Raft Memorial Museum. Masters Thesis. University of Florida, School of Architecture.
    • Navarro, Lygia. 2007. The Long Way Around: Human smuggling from Cuba to the United States. Masters Thesis. University of Californai Berkeley, Graduate School of Journalism.
    • Neske, Robert. 1999. Assumption of Adequacy: Operation Safe Haven: A Chaplain’s View. Masters Thesis. U.S. Army Command and Staff College, Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas. http://www.dtic.mil/cgi-bin/GetTRDoc?AD=ADA367791
    • Perez, Marta R. 1996.  The Varela Centers: An immigrant education entry program. Ph.D. dissertation, University of Miami.
    • Simantirakis, Christina. The Cuban Shoot-down of Two United States-registered Civil Aircraft on 24 February 1996: Study of a New Case of Use of Weapons Against Civil Aircraft. Ph.D. Dissertation, McGill University, Canada.
    • Timmel, Jill L. 2001. Creativity and Acculturation: Psychological and Cultural Effects on the Divergent Thinking of Cuban Preadolescent Immigrants Entering the United States. Ph.D. Dissertation., Cornell University.
    • Vicente, Andrea Cristine. 2004. The Cuban-U.S. Transnational Relationship: The Impact of Recent Migration on Cuban and Cuban-American Society. Master’s thesis. Florida State University. http://etd.lib.fsu.edu/theses/available/etd-11042004-143801/

    Artist: Sergio Lastres, 1994, Guantánamo Bay, Cuba

    Back to TOP

     

    Films & Videos

    • Anton, Alex and Joe Cardona. 1996. Adios patria? El éxodo cubano.  Miami. Malecon Films (80 mins.).
    • Bosch, Charles and Josep Domenech. 2002. Balseros. Barcelona: Lauren Films, VHS & DVD. (120 mins.).
    • Dystra, Jorge. 2003. En fin el mar. Spanish with English subtitles, Film. (102 mins.).
    • Gilpin, Margaret, Luis F. Bernaza. 1994. Estado del Tiempo (Changing tides) Spanish with English subtitles, VHS. (34 mins.).
    • Gutiérrez, Carlos V.  2006. Wet Foot/Dry Foot. Lazarus Productions. (18 mins.)http://www.noparachutefilms.com/no_parachute_films/bio.html
    • Hogar de Transito. s.n. En busca de la libertad: hogar de tránsito para los refugiados cubanos. VHS. (27 mins.).
    • Journeyman Pictures, Inc. 2003. A New Cuban Crisis. DVD. (37 min.) NYC: Filmakers Library, Inc.
    • Leff, Neil M., Mario Ortiz, Norton Rodriguez  2001. Libertad. Miami, FL : Bougainvillea Films, Video & DVD. (110 mins.).
    • Lopez, Carmen. 2003. Black & Blue: A Rafter’s Journey. Film. ( 59 mins.).
    • Mulloy, Lucy. 2012. Una noche. Video. (89 mins.).
    • Oller, Rafael. 1995. American Purgatory: 90 Days Behind the Wire at Guantánamo USNB. VHS. (90 mins.).
    • Rodríguez Ichaso, Mari and Purita F. Ichaso del Carrillo 1999. Marcadas Por El Paraíso. VHS (90 min.) Fuera del Paraíso Films. 

     

    Drawing made by Cuban child held at Guantánamo Bay, 1994

    Back to TOP

     

    Public Documents

    • Ackerman, Holly. 2006. Cuba: Potential Refugee Crisis? An Assessment. A Writenet Report commissioned by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Emergency and Security Services, June 2006. Available from http://www.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/refworld/rwmain?docid=44eb2fd44
    • Allen, Arthur A. 1996. The Leeway of Cuban Refugee Rafts and a Commercial Fishing Vehicle. Springfield , VA: U.S. Coast Guard Office of Research and Development,
    • Potocky-Tripodi, Miriam. 2002. Needs Assessment of Cuban and Haitian Refugees, Entrants, and Parolees in South Florida. Contract # LK054, Refugee Services, Florida Department of Children and Families and the Institute for Public Opinion Research, Florida International University. Miami, FL.
    • Reynolds, Nicholas E. 2003. A Skillful Show of Strength: U.S. Marines in the Caribbean, 1991-1996. Washington, D.C.: History and Museums Division, Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps
    • State of Florida, HRS:OSRA. 1994. 1994: The Status of Florida's Refugee/Entrant Population, Entrants: Florida's Unique Population.
    • United States Coast Guard. Alien migrant interdiction statistics. http://www.uscg.mil/hq/g-o/g-opl/amio/AMIO.htm
    • United States. Congress. House. Committee on International Relations. Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere. 1996. The Clinton Administration's Reversal of U.S. Immigration Policy Toward Cuba: Hearing Before the Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere of the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Fourth Congress, first session, May 18, 1995. Washington: U.S. G.P.O.
    • United States. Congress. House Committee on International Relations. Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere. 1995. The Cuban March 13th Tugboat Incident: Hearing before the Subcommittee on the Western Hemisphere of the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Fourth Congress, first session, January 25, 1995. Washington: U.S. G.P.O.
    • United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Armed Services. 1994. Situation in Cuba: Hearing Before the Committee on Armed Services, United States Senate, One Hundred Third Congress, second session, August 25, 1994. Washington: U.S. G.P.O.
    • United States. Joint Statement on Normalization of Migration, Building on the Agreement of September 9, 1994; International Legal Materials 35 (March): 327-330. 1996.
    • United States. Joint statement with the Republic of Cuba on Normalization of Migration, May 2, 1995. Weeky Compilation of Presidential Documents 31 (May 8): 752-753. 1996.
    • United States. The President's News Conference, August 19, 1994. Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents 30 (August 22): 1682-1690. 1994.
    • United States General Accounting Office. 1995. Cuba: U.S. Response to the 1994 Cuban Migration Crisis: Report to Congressional Requesters. Washington, D.C; Gaithersburg, MD.

    Back to TOP

     

    Journal Articles

    • Ackerman, Holly, Guest editor. 2005. Special section, The Cuban Balsero Crisis Ten Years Later, Latino Studies. Vol 3:3, November, 372-428.
    • ______________. 2005. Los balseros: antes y ahora. Encuentro de la cultura cubana 36, no. Spring: 131.
    • ______________. 1996. The Balsero Phenomenon, 1991-1994. Cuban Studies 26: 169.
    • ______________. Protesta social en la Cuba actual: Los balseros de 1994. Encuentro de la Cultura Cubana 3, no. Winter 1996/97: 125.
    • Aja Díaz, Antonio. 2000. La emigración de Cuba en los años noventa. Cuban Studies 30: 1.
    • ________________. 1996. La emigracion ilegal desde Cuba hacia los Estados Unidos y sus motivaciones. Cuadernos de nuestra America. Enero-junio.
    • ________________. 1995. Agosto del '94 y el proceso migratorio cubano. Areito, Vol5.
    • Andrews, Thomas C. Et al. 1997. Self-mutilitation and Malingering Among Cuban Migrants Detained at Guantánamo Bay. The New England Journal of Medicine. 336 No.17 (Apr 24).
    • Blanco, Juan A. Emigrantes, desterrados, exiliados e opositores: la excepcionalidad de la política migratoria cubana. Encuentro en la red , no. Monday, May 17, 2004: May 23, 2004.
    • Bonnin, Rodolfo, Chris Brown. 2002. The Cuban Diaspora: A Comparative Analysis of the Search for Meaning among Recent Cuban Exiles and Cuban Americans. Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences 24, no. 4: 465.
    • Brenner, Philip, P. Kornbluh. 1995. Clinton's Cuba Calculus. NACLA Report on the Americas 29, no. 2: 33.
    • Campisi, Elizabeth. 2005. Guantánamo: Safe haven or Traumatic Interlude?, The Cuban Balsero Crisis Ten Years Later, Latino Studies. Vol 3:3, November 372.
    • Colomer, Josep. 2000. Exit, Voice, and Hostility in Cuba. The International Migration Review 34, no. 2: 423.
    • del Valle, Patricia, Adriana G. McEachern, and Maria Q. Sabina. 1999. Using Drawings and Writings in a Group Counselling Experience with Cuban Rafter Children, 'Los Balseritos'. Guidance & Counseling 14, no. 4: 20.
    • Falcoff, M. 1995. The Other Cuba. National Review. XLVII, no. 10 (JUN 12): 34-38, 43.
    • Fowler, Victor. 2002. A Traveler's Album: Variations on Cubanidad. boundary 2 29, no. 3: 105-119. 3407.
    • Greenhill, Kelly. 2002. Engineered Migration and the Use of Refugees as Political Weapons: A Case Study of the 1994 Cuban Balseros Crisis. International Migration 40, no. 4: 39.
    • Henken, Ted. 2005. Balseros, boteros y el bombo: Persistencia de un trato migratorio especial. Encuentro de la cultura cubana 36, no. Spring: 142.
    • Howe, James C. 1994. Coast Guard Rescues of Cuban migrants. North-South: The Magazine of the Americas 4, no. 2 (09//Sep/Oct94): 48.
    • Hughes, Joyce. 1999. Flight from Cuba. California Western Law Review. Vol 39 (Fall).
    • Little, Cheryl. 1999. Inter-group Coalitions and Immigration Politics: The Haitian Experience in Florida. University of Miami Law Review53, no. 4: 717.
    • Lyons, David. 1994. Asylum Rule Change Decried. National Law Journal 17, no. September 5: A6.
    • Masud-Piloto, Félix. 2005. Bienvenidos a Guantánamo: Una perspective histórica. Encuentro de la cultura cubana 36, no. Spring: 121.
    • McCready, Siobhan. 1994. The Science of Saving Rafters. Sea Frontiers 40, no. 6 (12//): 14.
    • Nackerud, Larry. Alyson Springer and others. The End of Cuban Contradiction in U.S. Refugee Policy. International Migration Review. 33, no. 1: 176.
    • Palmer, Gary W. 1997. Guarding the Coast: Alien Migrant Interdiction Operations at Sea. Connecticut Law Review. 29:1565.
    • Pérez, Marta. 1997. The Varela Centers: An Immigrant Education Program in Response to Cuban Guantánamo Bay Crisis. Migration World Magazine 25, No 3:23.
    • Pitts, W. D. 1995. A Guantánamo Diary - Operation Sea Signal. JFQ. Autumn 114.
    • Rieff, David. 1995. From Exiles to Immigrants. Foreign Affairs 74: 76.
    • Rosendahl, Bruce. 1994. Awaiting Rafters. Sea Frontiers. 40, no. 6: 8.
    • Rosendahl, Bruce R., Thomas N. Lee. 1993. Roulette in the Straits of Florida. Sea Frontiers. 39, no. 3 (05//May/Jun93): 8.
    • Rothe, E.M., H. Castillo and others. 1998. Sintomatología post-traumática en niños y adolescentes balseros Cubanos: Una synopsis de tres estudios. Monografias de Psiquiatria. 10, no. 1: 18.
    • Rothe, Eugenio M., Hector Castillo-Matos, Kim Brinson, John Lewis. 2000. La odisea de los balseros cubanos. Médico Interamericano 19, no. 12: 578.
    • Rothe, Eugenio M., Hector Castillo-Matos, Ruben Busquets. 1996. Posttraumatic Stress Symptoms in Cuban Adolescent Refugees During Camp Confinement. Annals of the American Society for Adolescent Psychiatry. 26.
    • Rothe, Eugenio M., John Lewis, Hector Castillo-Matos and others. 2002. Posttraumatic Stress Disorder Among Cuban Children and Adolescents After Release From a Refugee Camp. Psychiatric Services. 55, no. 8: 970.
    • Ruiz, Elio B. 2007. Náufragos del verano (excerpt of a novel). Afro-Hispanic Review 26, no. 1 (/; Spring 2007): 213-222.
    • Rumbaut, Rubén G. 1976. The Family in Exile: Cuban Expatriates in the United States. The American Journal of Psychiatry.133, no. 4: 395.
    • Sartori, Mara E. 2001. The Cuban Migration Dilemma: An Examination of the United States' Policy of Temporary Protection in Offshore Safe Havens. Georgetown Immigration Law Journal. 15, no. 1: 319.
    • Solomon, B. 1994. Clinton's Fast Break on Cuba. National Journal. 26, no. 36: 2044.
    • Suarez, Virgil. 2000. The Culture of Leaving: Balsero Dreams. Hopscotch: A Cultural Review. 2:2, 2-13.
    • Turner, Elisa. 1991. Mythic Presence. ARTnews 90. no. 10: 20.
    • Uzwyshyn, Ray. Multimedia Visualization and Interactive Systems: Drawing Board Possibilities and Server Realities: A Cuban Rafter Paradigm Case." Library Hi Tech 25, no. 3 (2007): 379-386.
    • Vanderbush, Walt and Patrick J. Haney. 1999. Policy Toward Cuba in the Clinton Administration. Political Science Quarterly. 114, no. 3: 387.
    • Vicent, Mauricio. 1994. Éxodo y exilio para los balseros desde Cuba, con dolor. Crónica centroamericana. 341, no. September: 58.

     

    Rafters washed up in the Cayman Islands, 2008

    Back to TOP

     

    Occasional papers

    • Amnesty International. Cuban "Rafters" - Pawns of Two Governments. 1994. Internet on-line. Available from http://www.amnestyusa.org/countries/usa/document.do?id=7916C7D99ECA8040802569A600605620. May 24, 2004.
    • Castro, Max J. 2002. The new Cuban immigration in context. North-South Agenda Papers; no. 58, Dante B. Fascell North-South Center, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL.
    • Castro, Max J. 1995. Cuba: the continuing crisis. North-South Agenda Papers ; no.13, Dante B. Fascell North-South Center, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL.
    • Center for Migration Studies. 1984. In defense of the alien: proceedings of the annual National Legal
    • Conference on Immigration and Refugee Policy.  New York: Center for Migration Studies.
    • Clark, Juan M. 1977. Why? The Cuban exodus: background, evolution and impact in U. S. A. Miami, FL: Union of Cubans in Exile.
    • Human Rights Watch/Americas. 1994. Cuba: repression, the exodus of August 1994, and the U.S. response. 18.
    • Mesa-Lago, Carmelo. 1995. Cuba's raft exodus of 1994: causes, settlement, effects, and future. North-South Agenda Papers;  no. 12, Dante B. Fascell North-South Center, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL.
    • Quintana, Míriam. 1995. Migración cubana: crisis de los balseros en el verano de 1994. Ciudad de La Habana, Cuba: Centro de Estudios sobre América, Sección de Información Científica.
    • Solomon, William S. 1995. Covering Cuba: the balseros crisis, August-September, 1994. In . Washington, DC: Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.
    • U.S. Committee for Refugees. 1996 Following Controversial Repatriation, The Bahamas Permits Cuban Boat People to Apply for Asylum. Refugee Reports 17:5.

     

    Cuban camps at the U.S. Naval Station, Guantánamo Bay, 1994-1995  

    Back to TOP

     

    Selected Archives

    Page from el éxodo, a rafter-made newspaper from the Cuban camps at the Guantánamo Bay Naval Station, 1995. Artist, Alexis Calzadilla Garcell

    For a full run of el  éxodo and other rafter newspapers see, Caribbean Sea Migration Digital Collection at the Duke University Libraries.

    Back to TOP

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip