ECON 556 - 01: Economic History and Modernization of the Islamic Middle East: Getting Started

>Historians of the Ottoman Empire

>Istanbul Maps

>Access to Middle East & Islamic Resources

Online:

• Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
• Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought
• The Cambridge History of Egypt
• The Cambridge History of Iran
• The New Cambridge History of Islam
• The Cambridge History of Turkey, vol. 3
• Christian-Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History
• Country Studies (Library of Congress)
• Encyclopædia of Islam
• Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
• Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
• History of Istanbul
• Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
• Islam in World Cultures
• Oxford Islamic Studies Online

See also: Middle East Studies
 

Books:

Çiçek, Kemal.

The great Ottoman-Turkish civilisation.
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .G74 2000 4 vols. Check availability @ Duke

Derviş, Pelin, et al.

Becoming Istanbul : an encyclopedia.
Istanbul: Garanti Gallery, 2008.
Perkins/Bostock Library NA5870.A1 B43 2008 Check availability @ Duke

Güzel, Hasan Celâl, et al.

The Turks
Ankara : Yeni Türkiye, 2002.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DS26 .T874 2002 6 vols. Check availability @ Duke

İhsanoğlu, Ekmeleddin.

History of the Ottoman state, society & civilisation.
İstanbul: Research Center for Islamic History, Art and Culture, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O82513 2001 v.1-2 Check availability @ Duke

İnalcık, Halil.

Ottoman civilization.
Ankara : Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Culture, 2003-2004.
Perkins/Bostock International & Area Studies Reading Room DR486 .O886 2003 2 vols. Check availability @ Duke

İnalcık, Halil.

The Ottoman Empire: the classical age, 1300-1600.
New York, Praeger Publishers, 1973.
Perkins/Bostock Library DR486 .I5 1973b Check availability @ Duke

Koçu, Reşad Ekrem .

İstanbul ansiklopedisi.
İstanbul: İstanbul Ansiklopedisi ve Neşriyat Kollektif Şirketi, 1958.
Perkins/Bostock Library International & Area Studies Reading Room DR719 .I68 1958 v.1-11 Check availability @ Duke

Table of Contents: v. 1. Aba, abacılar-Alafranga Baloz.--v. 2. Alageyik sokağa-Aşirefendi Kütübhânesi.--v. 3. Aşiret mektebi-Baba.--v. 4. Baba-Barbunya balığı.--v. 5. Bardakçı sokağı-Berduş.--v. 6. Boğaziçindeki iskele, kayık ve sandalları-Cemil.--v. 7. Cemil Bey-Çiray.--v. 8. Çiroz-Dişbuğdaycılar Sokağı.--v. 9. Dişci-Erişteci Sokağı.--v. 10. Eritmek-Fırın.--v. 11. Fırın-Gökçınar.

Find Articles in:

• Econlit with Full Text
• Historical Abstracts
• Index Islamicus
• JSTOR
• Lexis/Nexis Academic
• Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS thru EBSCO)
• Multidata Online (Arabic Fulltext)
• OxResearch
• Public Affairs International Service (PAIS)

Goitein, S. D.

A Mediterranean society; the Jewish communities of the Arab world as portrayed in the documents of the Cairo Geniza.
Berkeley, University of California Press, 1967-1993.
Perkins/Bostock Library DS135.L4 G658 1967 v.1-6 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: v. 1. Economic foundations.--v. 3. The family.--v.4. Daily life.--v. 5. The individual -- v. 6. Cumulative indices.

Click here for Online version

Kuran, Timur.

Mahkeme kayıitları ışığında 17. yüzyıl İstanbul'unda sosyo-ekonomik yaşam = Social and economic life in seventeenth-century Istanbul : glimpses from court records.
İstanbul: Türkiye İş Bankası, 2010-
Perkins/Bostock Library HC493.I85 M34 2010 v.1-8 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: cilt 1. Esnaf ve loncalar. Hıristiyan ve Yahudi cemaat işleri. Yabancılar = vol. 1. Guilds and guildsmen. Communal affairs of Christians and Jews. Foreigners -- cilt 2. Ticari ortaklıklar = vol. 2 Commercial partnerships -- cilt 3. Devlet-toplum ilişkileri, 1602-19 = vol. 3. State-subject relations, 1602-19 -- cilt 4. Devlet-toplum ilişkileri, 1661-97 = vol. 4. State-subject relations, 1661-97 -- cilt 5-6. Vakiflar (1606-17) = v. 5-6. Waqfs, 1606-17.v

Find Country Statistics in:

• Marketline advantage
• Global Development Finance (World Databank)
• Global Insight
• OECD and IEA Statistics
• ProQuest Statistical Insight
• UN comtrade
• UNdata (free)
• World Bank Data (free) Incl. WDI & GDF

• Economic History of the Ottoman Empire: Data (U. of Connecticut)

See also Statistical Sources tab at top of page