Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library pre-assignment - complete before we meet on Jan 14
Designed to store content in any format, including PDFs, images, audio and video files, and snapshots of web pages. Operates with thousands of sites, and automatically organizes your files so you can access and cite them easily.
Nomad plugin (Chrome users)
Install the Nomad plugin
One-click access to millions of scholarly articles! LibKey Nomad links to full text articles Duke Libraries subscribes to -- even when you're not on the library website.
Brainstorming search terms
$$ for your papers!
Want $1000 for your research paper? Consider submitting it for consideration for the Aptman Prize!
Finding books & media for your case studies
The library catalog lets you search for books, journals, DVDs, music, and research materials that are available in the Duke University Libraries.
When you know exactly what you want:
- Search the library catalog by title or author of the work (Ex. Mccann, Colum).
- Use the catalog's advanced search for the most precise searching.
When you are starting a search on a new topic:
- Use the default keyword search to see what books we have on a particular topic (Ex. civil war).
- Click on relevant suggested subjects for more focused search results (Ex. united states - history - civil war, 1861-1865).
Looking for even more tips and tricks? Check out this guide to locating and requesting books and ebooks.
Finding articles for your case studies
PRO TIP: Search any combination of ERIC, Education Full Text, SocINDEX and PsycINFO simultaneously by clicking Choose Databases from the initial search screen and then checking the databases you wish to search from the pop-up list.
ALL tab searches articles, books, newspapers and more across hundreds of databases
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and reports in education
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and reports of U.S. and international education research, including research on higher education
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the field of sociology
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Find literature from the political left, with emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside & outside academia.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(for blogs and broadcasts) Provides full-text access to a range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts; 1970s-present