Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding a topic and background information
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database of high-impact journals; it focuses on science, but includes some content in social sciences and humanities.
Indexes earth science resources, some back to the 18th century; indexes most US Geological Survey publications.
EV includes engineering literature from a range of trusted sources: scholarly journals, trade publications, patents, government reports, reference books and conference proceedings.
Covers the world's agricultural literature, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, soil and water resources, and earth and environmental sciences.
Comprehensive source for health science information, including public and environmental health.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals, trade journals and magazines about fresh water and marine systems. Includes Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
A user-friendly interface for working with US census data
An easy interface for viewing and mapping US census data
From the EPA: provides geospatial data, easy-to-use tools, and other resources related to ecosystem services, their stressors, and human health.
An entry point for multiple international statistics databases
Other data sources
A searchable list of other data sources that are subscribed to by Duke University Libraries or open access