Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Studies: Getting Started

Welcome WORLD OF GAMING - 453S/455S

Theory & Textual Indexes

There's a huge body of writing on visual theory and image meaning/manipulation.  Search these for relevant articles and books.

ARTBIBLIOGRAPHIES MODERN - Major journal index address modern visual studies.  For gaming, use both "games" and "gaming" as search words.

DUKE CATALOG -  Subject terms include  Visual Communication and Computer art

Oxford Art Online - Oxford's combined art databases, searchable uniformly or individually.  Includes techniques, media, subjects

A Guide to the Web's Free Image Resources (2013 Atlantic article) - still a nice survey.

Beginnings - Reference Sources


Interesting specializes digtial image collections (also see the "Images" tab on this guide)

Visual Studies Archive - Shoah Foundatioin

VADS - Image Index - a service of the Library & Student Services department of the University for the Creative Arts.

Victorian Popular Culture

Reanimation Library - copyright-free books heavy on images and visual content

Great Browsing Beginnings

Sometimes you just need to see a ton of images to find the perfect one.  Books have the advantage over databases in that their subjects are more limited than a broad web search and their source/owner more reliably documented.  Fun, disparate image browsing includes:

Graphis design annual [serial].  Library Service Center: NC997.A1 G73 LSC - art journal of art/design - commercially centered, but still very creative

Art directors annual [serial].  Library Service Center NC997.A1 A69    - Annual summary of awarding winning designs in the advertising field - includes print, video and internet

All-American ads (series). NC998.5.A1 A155  A decade-by-decade tour through commercial art, each decade a different volume (the 50's, the 60's, etc.)

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen's picture
Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website