Biography/overviews/context

Search these databases to find biographical information as well as overviews of historical, cultural, and political topics.

Africa Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Search African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
This database brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Search for biographical articles on the lives, works, and careers of literary figures from all eras and genres
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Search across major scholarship covering the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture

Encyclopedia of Africa
Covers prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides long-form, articles written by experts in the field of Literature. Covers a range of diverse topics including American Literature, Asian American Literature, Latina and Latino Literature, and Literature Theory.

ENGLISH 101S: Literature Beyond the Book - Small Magazines in Africa and the Diaspora