LibGuides: Reproductive Health and Rights Primary Sources at the Rubenstein Library: Print Materials

Posters and Graphics

Artists' Books

Mine by Meredith Stern, 2013
Mine is a silkscreened, hand-stamped, machine and hand-sewn artists' book in the form of a stuffed animal cat. The text comments on bodily autonomy in response to restrictive U.S. legislation reducing access to reproductive health care. [Image source: Just Seeds]
Keep abortion legal by Aleksandra Mir, 2005
Close to Tears by Tennille Shuster, 2005
Inkjet printed blue text on tissues housed in tissue box made of blue book cloth over paperboard. Text printed to give appearance as though tears have fallen on the tissues, blurring the ink.

Books on Reproductive Rights

A selection of books and other printed materials pertaining to reproductive health and abortion access that are held by the Rubenstein Library.

Abortion - The American Holocaust by Kent Kelly
ISBN: 0960413812

Publication Date: 1981-01-01
Abortion and its Treatment: From the Stand-point of Practical Experience by T. Gaillard Thomas, M.D.
Publication Date: 1890

This book is a special course of lectures delivered at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York, session of 1889-'90.
Butchers in Waiting: The Shocking Story of Abortion in the U.S.A. by Carlson Wade
Publication Date: 1960

with a foreword by Edward Podolsky
Highly sensationalized look at illegal abortion and the doctors and women engaged in it.
Choices: a Pro-choice Benefit Comic Anthology for the National Organization for Women by Trina Robbins (editor)
Publication Date: 1990

Includes comic strips by over 40 artists (e.g. Nicole Hollander, Garry Trudeau, Alison Bechdel, and Roberta Gregory) with an introduction by Congresswoman Pat Schroeder.
The First Unalienable Right by James J. Drummey
Publication Date: 1976

A reprint of a vitriolic article that appeared three years after the landmark Supreme Court ruling Roe v. Wade in The Review of the News, a predecessor to the current periodical of the John Birch Society, The New American.
For the Time Being: Poetry and Fiction on Abortion by Marianne Goldsmith and Jean Loria (editors)
Publication Date: 1978

A literary collection about abortion published by Biel Press.
Jane: Documents from Chicago's Clandestine Abortion Service
Publication Date: 1968-1973

Brochures and pamphlets from an abortion service provider in pre-Roe v. Wade America.
The Liberal Case Against Abortion by Vasu Murti; Carol Crossed (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0977223434

Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Activist Murti, a card-carrying member of the People for Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) and the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), presents a formidable case against abortion, using reasoning and arguments based upon liberal philosophy.
Notes from the First Year by New York Radical Women
Publication Date: 1968

Digitized as part of the Women's Liberation Movement online collection.
People Control: The Case Against Legalized Abortion) by Gordon "Jack" Mohr
Publication Date: 1970

A lecture about the "moral implications" of abortion written by a "recognized authority on psychological warfare and communist 'brainwashing' techniques."
Remembering the horror before Roe v. Wade: Desperate Letters Before 1973. by Lawrence Lader
Publication Date: 2003
Reproductive Wrongs: Male Power and the New Reproductive Technologies by Feminist International Network on the New Reproductive Technologies
Publication Date: 1984

A book written by lesbian feminists on human reproductive technologies as methods of subjugating women, particularly poor and minority women.
The Right of Life of the Unborn Child by Hector Treub
Publication Date: 1903

An early pro-life argument.
Ru 486: Misconceptions, Myths and Morals by Renate Klein; Lynette Dumble; Janice G. Raymond
ISBN: 1875559019

Publication Date: 2013-07-01

A guide to Mifepristone, an antiprogesterone drug which provides a pharmaceutical alternative to ending early pregnancy.
Vacuum Aspiration Abortion by Women's Health and Abortion Project (Brooklyn, New York, N.Y.). Health Organizing Collective
Publication Date: 1973
When Birth Control Fails: How to Abort Ourselves Safely by Suzann Gage
Publication Date: 1979

Periodicals

The Bingham Center has several large periodical collections with content related to women's reproductive health.

Reproductive Health Periodicals Collection
This collection includes a number of periodicals produced by organizations such as the Mayo Clinic, the American Civil Liberties Union's Reproductive Freedom Project, the Center for Reproductive Rights, and HealthyWomen.
Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Periodicals Collection
The ALFA Periodicals Collection, dated 1962-1994, contains over 800 grassroots newsletter and journal titles from feminist, LGBT, and other activist groups primarily located in the Southeast but also including titles from around the U.S. and abroad.
Women's and LGBT Movements Periodicals Collection
The Women's and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Periodicals Collection comprises individual issues and runs of periodicals produced by or reporting on organizations involved in the women's rights and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender rights movements of the late twentieth century and early twenty-first century.
Women's Zines
Many of the zine collections include titles on reproductive health dated from the 1990s to the present.

Reproductive Health and Rights Primary Sources at the Rubenstein Library

Posters and Graphics

Artists' Books

Books on Reproductive Rights

Periodicals

Contact Us

Services for...