Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka
Times of India
Searchable full-page and article images of issues from 1838 to 2003 of the most widely circulated and authoritative English-language daily newspaper in India. For more recent issues, see the search box on The Times of India
World Newspaper Archive
Includes Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) from 1881-1922, Ceylon Observer (1864-1922), Indian People (1903-1909), Kayasare Hinda (Kaiser-I-Hind, 1886-1890), Leader (1909-1922), Madras Mail (1868-1889) and Pioneer (1865-1903).
Asahi shinbun onrain kiji dētabēsu; 聞蔵IIビジュアル for libraries: 朝日新聞記事データべース
12+ million articles published in the Asahi newspaper from 1879 to present. Also includes Aera & Shūkan Asahi, Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Aashi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902-1940) published in Kobe and the weekly Commercial Supplement.
Japan Times Archives
The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.), Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues from March 22, 1897 to the present.
The Keijo nippō 京城日報
Full page reproductions in pdf format of official Japanese-language newspaper from colonial-period Korea (1906 – 1945). Must be browsed by date. No search interface.
Maisaku -- Mainichi Shinbun 每索: 每日新聞のデータベース.
he online full-text database of the Mainichi shinbun (1872 (Meiji 5)- present). Both the Tokyo and Osaka editions (1876-1942) are in pdf format until 1988 and as search terms are limited, browsing is recommended. From 1989, the full-text is searched and it is possible to view the pdf. After 1999, only the html text is available. The database also includes the Mainichi Daily News (June 2008- ).
Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報
Official newspaper of Taiwan during the Japanese colonial period, including both Japanese (1898.5 - 1944.3) and Chinese (1905.7 - 1911.11) editions.
Yomidasu rekishikan: ヨミダス歴史館
Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to present and the Daily Yomiuri 1989.9 to present.