Latin American/Caribbean Studies: Recommended Databases

An open access collection of classic intellectual works from Latin America in e-book form.

Provides open access to Brazilian books from the early Twentieth Century.

Provides access to information on education in the English-speaking Caribbean.

A collection of popular movie periodicals on Mexican cinema including reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Declassified documents involving U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945: White House materials, diplomatic dispatches, independent reports, briefing papers, and other secret material on Central America, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Peru.
Tip: Choose Documents to get a search screen allowing you to choose and combine individual collections.

A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexican border, and Hispanics in the U.S. published from 1970 forward. Those articles contained in the database PRISMA have their full-text cross-linked in HAPI.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Contains government & NGO documents, research studies, Congressional Research Service and Government Accountability Office reports, speeches, testimony, and more. Covers multiple regions including Latin America & the Caribbean.

Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.

Provides a weekly analysis of developments by country and region. Also includes, early warning reports and special reports on selected topics.

An annual study of public opinion in eighteen Latin American countries, providing annual measures of attitudes toward democracy, civic culture, economic issues, gender issues, the environment, inequality, social capital, and trade policy.

Covers literature related to the health sciences published in Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982.

OpinionArchives the full-text of major journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, NACLA, American Spectator, National Review, Harper's and Scientific American.

Political and economic analysis from 1984 forward, covering a wide range of issues in the social sciences.

This database provides selective coverage of a wide variety of international and public policy issues from 1915-present. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and the web. It covers the The U.S. and Africa, Australia & New Zealand, Canada, Central Asia & the Caucasus, Central & Eastern Europe, East Asia (China, Japan & Korea), Latin America & the Caribbean, Middle East, Russia & the Former Soviet Union, South Asia (India, Pakistan), Southeast Asia & Oceania, and Western Europe.

Top-ranked scholarly journals in Political Science and Public Policy, some government documents. Covers comparative politics, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

Provides full-text scholarly journals in Spanish, Portuguese & English from the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology.

Full-text articles from more than 160 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. The articles in RedALyC are also contained in WorldCat.

Both a bibliographic index and a gateway to online resources relevant to Brazilian Studies, the site provides a searchable index of Brazilian scholarly journals and contains additional relevant resources.

An open access database of full-text journal articles published in Latin America in the physical and social sciences.

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, 1908-present

Indexes international research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

Sur is a renowned literary journal from Buenos Aires including intellectuals from around the world. Contents include literature, film, theater, art, music, history, and politics. 1931-1989.

A collection of primary source documents; academic journals; news-feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.

Contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.

Full-text articles from over 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Coverage 1959 to present.

A great source for newspapers but with a complicated search. View the Flash tutorial at the database guide link before searching Factiva. Contains thousands of foreign newspapers including Latin American and Caribbean sources.

Click any country name on the right hand of the page to begin your search without the need for further login credentials. Provides company directory information, financial data, and news from the world's emerging markets.

Full text of over 70 publications including most major newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean in Spanish, Portuguese and some English from the mid-1990s-Present.

Provides full text access to a range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts from the 1970s to the present

A collection of newspapers and blogs from Latin America. Once in the database, click on "Acceda Noticias" or "Access World News" to search Latin American newspapers.

Selected translation of articles (2003-) from non-United States media sources covering political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Has a section of key newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean but only selected years and articles.

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe, including an entire module of more than 35 Latin American Newspapers from the 19th and 20th Centuries.

An index to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom.

Primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Provide access to digitized copies of archives held in Britain, with a detailed finding aid for each archive. Includes material on the Americas

Includes fully searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides, and ephemera.

Historical documents, archives, photos, video from a collaboration of Mexican institutions.

Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.

This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties between Latin American and Caribbean countries.

Indexes 4000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives in English from around the world.

A project of the U. of Texas that includes selected documents from the Presidents and ministries of 18 Latin American Countries.

A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Presented by Brown University.

The title is deceptive. This is NOT just about economics. The collection contains a wide variety of primary documents on social and political issues from the 15th century to the mid-19th century.

Full text of all UN documents, including resolutions and decisions, issued at UN Headquarters in New York and the UN Office at Geneva since 1993, with selected earlier coverage.

Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

Online collection of thousands of documents on slavery and anti-slavery. The collection will be released in four parts. Duke currently has Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition.

A searchable collection of web sites relevant to all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean Studies, organized by country, theme and discipline.

A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe, including an entire module of Latin American Newspapers from the 19th and 20th Centuries.