LibGuides: Japanese Studies: Recommended Databases

Articles & Books

CiNii
Citation information for articles, books and dissertations held by NDL; must select either articles or books (& journals) or dissertations. Books include holdings information for Japanese libraries. Includes links to full-text for 230,000 dissertations. Can export to Refworks, EndNote etc.
Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu 雑誌記事索引集成データベース: : 明治から現在まで総合雑誌から地誌まで
Includes the same article data as in CiNii AND data for many journals published in prewar Japan.
National Diet Library catalog
Search box on left will search journal articles and books simultaneously. Limit after you get results.
Web Oya bunko
WebOya indexes periodicals held by the Ōya Sōichi bunko, a private library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of popular journals reflecting popular culture in Japan. Coverage dates from the Meiji era (1895?). It also indexes advertisements.

Japan Knowledge ジャパンナレッジ : 知識探索サイト
General encyclopedias, language dictionaries -- includes Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, 日本国語大辞典, 國史大辭典, 日本歴史地名大系, 日本大百科全書, 現代用語の基礎知識, イミダス, 日本人名大事典. Also 東洋文庫.
CJKV-English Dictionary
A standard Chinese character/compound dictionary with a classical emphasis.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc., found in Buddhist canonical sources.
JAANUS Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System
8000 terms related to traditional Japanese art and architecture from the 1st century A.D. to 1868.
Artwords 現代美術用語辞典ver.2.0」
Comprehensive dictionary for words used in the study of modern Japanese art history. Covers 1900 to the present. Multiple search options.

Asahi shinbun onrain kiji dētabēsu; 聞蔵IIビジュアル for libraries: 朝日新聞記事データべース
12+ million articles published in the Asahi newspaper from 1879 to present. Also includes Aera & Shūkan Asahi, Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Aashi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
Japan Chronicle
The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902-1940) and the weekly Commercial Supplement.
Japan Times Archives
The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser (Morning ed.), Japan Times and Advertiser (Evening ed.) and the Nippon Times; includes all issues from March 22, 1897 to the present.
The Keijo nippō 京城日報
Full page reproductions in pdf format of official Japanese-language newspaper from colonial-period Korea (1906 – 1945). Must be browsed by date. No search interface.
Maisaku = Mainichi shinbun
The full-text of the Mainichi shinbun (1872 (Meiji 5)- present). Both the Tokyo and Osaka editions (1876-1942) are in pdf format until 1988 and as search terms are limited, browsing is recommended. After 1999, only html is available.
more...less...
The database also includes the Mainichi Daily News (June 2008- ), Shūkan Ekonomisuto (October 1989- ), the public opinion poll conducted by Mainichi Shinbunsha (1945- ), Mainichi yoron chōsa, a chronology of 2000 major events in the twentieth century, and the company history ""Mainichi" no 3-seiki".

Manchuria Daily News Online This link opens in a new window
The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China. From 1932 the Manchuria Daily News promotes? Includes the Manchuria Magazine, Manchuria Month, Contemporary Manchuria and the Manchuria Information Bulletin.

Taiwan nichinichi shinpō 臺灣日日新報
Official newspaper of Taiwan during the Japanese colonial period, including both Japanese (1898.5 - 1944.3) and Chinese (1905.7 - 1911.11) editions.
Yomidasu rekishikan: ヨミダス歴史館
Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to present and the Daily Yomiuri 1989.9 to present.

Digital Library from the Meiji era: 近代デジタルライブラリ (Japanese)
Full-text of 240,000 of 570,000 volumes held by the National Diet Library published in Japan between 1868 and 1945.

Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 This link opens in a new window
British Foreign Office Files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. Topics include: Japanese culture and society, The shifting nature of Anglo-Japanese relations, The ‘Great Kanto Earthquake’ of 1923, Japanese imperialism, War in the Pacific, Sino-Japanese relations and Manchuria/Manchukuo, Soviet-Japanese relations, The American occupation of Japan, Japanese economy, Trade and the Pacific-rim after World War II, Housing and education in Japan