Skip to main content
Search this Guide
Data/Statistics: Recommended Databases
EXPERT TIP: Consult the web pages and staff of the
Data & Visualization Services Department
for more assistance.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides a variety of economic measures for the United States as well as a collection of working papers.
FedStats is an Internet gateway to a full range of official statistical information published by more than 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
Gateway to data produced and disseminated by U.S. Federal Agencies
Social Explorer provides a detailed view of demographic changes in the United States through Census data since 1790.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Good for long statistical time series relating to the USA, mostly derived from government data
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Provides many of the latest economic data, especially related to labor markets.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Provides data on energy prices and production trends for the U.S. and global markets
National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
Largest active archive of weather and climate data for the world.
United States Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service (USDA-ERS)
Provides data for U.S. agricultural production, the farm economy, and agricultural trade.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research (iPOLL)
Data from many survey research organizations; includes iPOLL, which provides access to individual questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
Includes key OECD statistical databases, such as International Energy Agency (IEA) data and the International Trade by Commodity Statistics (ITCS)
Data Catalog [World Bank]
Empirical data from the World Bank including its centerpiece dataset, World Development Indicators (WDI), with some data back to 1960 for up to 226 countries
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (Comtrade)
Comtrade provides trade data for over 200 countries covering from the early 1960s to the present day.
Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
Provides a variety of health and social science data
WHO Global Health Observatory
Provides access to statistical and epidemiological data available from the World Health Organization and elsewhere.
Dryad is a repository for data and journal articles related to the basic and applied biosciences.
Data and Visualization Services
Aug 31, 2016 1:55 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
international moneatry fund
latin american studies
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries