Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
L'Annee Philologique is the primary periodical index for Classical Studies, indexing articles selected from 1,000 journals, dealing with all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including history, literature, art, religion, folklore, early Christian texts, papyrology, and science. Content covers from prehistory to the middle of the eighth century AD.
Brill's New Pauly
This is a comprehensive encyclopedia of the ancient world.
Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut: Indexes books, articles and essays on antiquities, art and archaeology in the ancient Middle Eastern, classical, early Christian, Byzantine, and early Medieval periods. Some overlap with Zenon.
Tables of contents of journals of interest to classicists [electronic resource] : TOCS-IN.
TOCS-IN provides access to a selection of 185 journals in the Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion, beginning in 1992.
Thesaurus Linguae Gracae
Dictionary and thesaurus of Greek.
Deutsches Archaeologisches Institut. Zenon searches the following collections: The Archaeological Bibliography of the Rome, Berlin, Athens and Istanbul departments, the Bibliography on the Archaeology of the Iberian Peninsula and the Bibliography of the Archaeology of Eurasia. Some overlap with Dyabola.
This is an archive of full text articles and includes indexing for 58 classical studies journals. (L'Annee is not full text but indexes over 1000).
Web of Knowledge
This is a citation index, and is slightly less accurate if you're doing a subject search. In it you can track the bibliography of a particular article, as well as all the articles which subsequently cite it. It is, however, one of the most extensive databases of scholarly information and for comprehensive searching, one of the essential tools.
This is a union catalog which accesses over 55,000 members libraries in the United States and overseas. If you wanted to find every English title on a particular topic, you must search here. It also includes foreign language titles, but only if they've been acquired by member libraries. See your librarian if you need to do comprehensive searching in foreign languages.