Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.
Recent books added to the Duke Libraries on the subject of "Old Testament"
Recent internet resources added on the subject of "Old Testament" See more bookmarks at our Delicious page.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Use the scripture button to search specific scriptures.
Bible in English
Contains twenty versions of the Bible in English from 990-1970.
BibleWorks (at Divinity School Library only)
A biblical concordance and morphological analysis program containing the full text of 44 versions of the Bible in English, Greek, Hebrew plus 9 other languages.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
Dead Sea Scrolls (CD-ROM only)
A collection of digitized images the Dead Sea Scrolls.
The Gottingen copy of the Gutenberg Bible, the Model Book and the Helmasperger Notarial Instrument are accompanied by explanatory texts about Gutenberg and his life, the early period of letterpress printing and its impact.
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers.
Old Testament Abstracts
A primary resource of bibliographic information for the study of the Hebrew Bible. Indexes journal articles, books, collected essays and Festschriften; 1978 to date.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Provides access to six Oxford editions of the Bible, with commentary and annotations from study Bibles combined with reference material and source texts.
Packard Humanities Institute (PHI) Database (CD-ROM only)
The 2 cds contain Latin and Bible texts from the Center for the Computer Analysis of Text at the University of Pennsylvania, the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri, and texts in Arabic and Coptic.
Society of Biblical Literature Bible Odyssey
Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).
Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992 at Divinity and Perkins
New international dictionary of Old Testament theology & exegesis by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .N438 1997 at Divinity
Old Testament Exegesis by
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS476 .S83 2001 at Divinity
Theological wordbook of the Old Testament by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .T49 1980 at Divinity
[Torah, Neviʾim u-Khetuvim] = Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia
Call Number: Ref BS715 1984 at Divinity