LibGuides: LatinX in the North Carolina Triangle: Getting Started

U.S. Immigration - How the system works

How the United States Immigration System Works - Immigration 101 from the American Immigration Council

Inmigración en Estados Unidos: 7 gráficos - A series of graphics from the BBC with Spanish text.

Immigration Laws

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Open the database and then scroll down to the "Browse Databases by Name." Select "Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S."
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find newspaper accounts dating from the 1970s forward.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Search across historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials from the US government

Also see, State Immigration Laws.

Find Books in Spanish

GO TO THE DUKE LIBRARIES HOMEPAGE AND CLICK ON "BOOKS & MEDIA"
FROM THE DROPDOWN MENU SELECT TO SEARCH BY "SUBJECT"
SEARCH FOR THE TERM "IMMIGRATION" AND ANY OTHER KEYWORD SUCH AS THE NAME OF A COUNTRY
WHEN THE RESULTS COME UP, SCROLL DOWN AND SELECT "SPANISH" UNDER "LANGUAGES"
CRUISE THROUGH THE RESULTS

Here are some sample results for the SUBJECT

United States -- Emigration and immigration

Central America immigration

Local Newspapers - In English & Spanish

For local news in Spanish see Que Pasa.

For Raleigh-Durham news in English see the database America’s News for The News & Observer and the Herald Sun

Also aee the database America’s News for Spanish language newspapers such as el Nuevo Herald

Government and Non-Government Websites

Non-governmental Organizations

Center for Immigration Studies -"The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization, providing information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States."
CLACSO - A leading Latin American think tank with many reports on immigration in Spanish & English
Immigration Equality - Since 1994, Immigration Equality has been proud to advocate for and represent lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ), and HIV-positive immigrants seeking safety, fair treatment, and freedom.
Migration Policy Institute -"Independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.
Committee for Refugees and Immigrants - Serving people who have endured forced migration or difficult voluntary migration.
Urban Institute Program on Immigrants and Immigration - A Washington think tank with well organized reports and links to other sites.

U.S. Governmental Organizations

US Citizenship & Immigration Services / Department of Homeland Security - U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is the government agency overseeing lawful immigration to the United States.
US Customs & Immigration Enforcement / Homeland Security - Enforces federal laws governing border control, customs, trade and immigration.

U.S. State Department Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration - The Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration provides aid for refugees, victims of conflict and stateless people around the world, through repatriation, local integration, and resettlement in the United States.

Many of these sites have a link for finding reports in Spanish. A Google search or Google Scholar search for terms in Spanish will also produce scholarly reports if you include words such as estudio, investigación, informe, reporte. For example see results for

Inmigración Estados Unidos Reporte DACA

Or, a search in Google Scholar for

Inmigración Estados Unidos Investigación

Statistics

Non-Governmental Organizations

Pew Research Center - Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
TRAC at Syracuse University - An independent data source with very detailed information on immigration courts and enforcement.

Government Organizations

Department of Homeland Security - Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components."

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics / Department of Homeland Security - The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on those who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including apprehensions, removals, and returns.
US Immigration & Customs Enforcement - Data on criminal and civil enforcement of immigration laws.

Voices of Immigrants

Bracero History Archive - The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.
Bracero Oral History Project -A project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.
Bittersweet Harvest: The Bracero Program 1942 - 1964 (National Museum of American History)
Hispanic Communities Documentation Project (Brooklyn Historical Society) -Over fifty interviews documenting the experiences of Brooklyn residents who arrived from Puerto Rico, Panama, Ecuador, and several other Central and South American nations in the latter half of the twentieth century.
Historis -A subsection of StoryCorps, provides the recorded stories of Latinos around the country.
Latina and Latino History Oral Histories (UCLA) -Topics include Central Americans in California, Latinos in film, music, politics, Mexican American Civil Rights and the Sleepy Lagoon Case.
Latino Arts and Culture Oral History Project ( Institute for Latino Studies, Notre Dame) -More than 100 interviews recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni.
Latino Migration Oral History Archives (U of North Carolina) - Focus on Latin American immigration to North Carolina and the formation of Latino communities.
Latino Philadelphia Oral Histories (Historical Society of Pennsylvania) - Personal letters, diaries, photographs, and scrapbooks of immigrant families as well as photographs, prints, posters and broadsides.
Luis J. Botifoll Oral History Collection (U of Miami Libraries) - Includes videos, outlines, and selected transcripts of oral history interviews conducted principally with members of the first generations of Cubans to leave the island after the Cuban Revolution.
Mexican Labor and World War II: The Bracero Program. -Collection of photographs, documents, and oral history interviews.
New Roots: Voices from Carolina del Norte, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill -A digital archive that contains the oral histories of Latin American migrants in North Carolina.
Nuestras Raíces, The Latino Oral History Project of Rhode Island - A collection of life stories of Rhode Island’s Spanish-speaking pioneers.
Puerto Rico and the American Dream
Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project
Interviews on the Chicano Movement in Washington State.
VOCES Oral History Project (UT)
The Voces Oral History Project documents contributions of U.S. Latinos and Latinas of the WWII, Korean War and Vietnam War generations.

Librarian for Latin American, Iberian, and Latino Studies

Diego Godoy

Email Me

Contact:

919-660-5845

Subjects: Latin American, Latino/a & Caribbean Studies, Latino/a Studies

Databases with Journal Articles in Spanish

Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin
REDALyC This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. Search in Spanish
SciELO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. This is an open access database.