Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Repositories for the History of Medicine: Additional Medical History Resources at Duke

Duke Medical Center Library & Archives

Duke Medical Center Library & Archives

Medial Center Archives actively collects the official records of DUMC and DUHS departments and divisions, including a variety of materials that provide evidence of the business, interests, and activities through of the years. Centralizing materials and relieving individual offices of the burden of storing and servicing records promotes greater and more efficient use of records. Archives is supported by the School of Medicine and is administratively part of the Medical Center Library.

Historical Images in Medicine (HIM)

Encompass photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences.

Related Materials from the John W. Hartman Center

Medicine and Madison Avenue

This collection explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. It presents images and information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from the 1910s through the 1950s.

Ad*Access

This collection contains images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.

Duke University Medical Garden

Duke University Medical Garden

Herbal treatments are a long tradition in medicine for treatment of diseases and conditions. The Medical Garden was created so faculty, students and staff could explore the common herbs and plants used to treat illnesses over the years.

Josiah Charles Trent History of Medicine Room

The Josiah Charles Trent History of Medicine Room

The Trent Room was constructed to honor Dr. Josiah Charles Trent (1914–1948) and the donation of his remarkable historical medical collection by his wife Mary Duke Biddle Trent Semans (1920–2012).