Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary sources for Global British
19th Century UK Periodicals
Duke subscribes to:
Series One: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humour and Leisure/Sport
Series Two: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial. periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa.
a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758
British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
British online archives
digitized copies of archives held in Britain, with a detailed finding aid for each archive held, includes British records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900.
provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century
Colonial State Papers
provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries..
Documents on British policy overseas [electronic resource] : diplomacy in the twentieth century.
a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 are included.
Full-text database containing primary source documents about the British Empire.
Guardian and The Observer
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant events of the day. An alternative point of view to The Times
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Full text of the Sessional Papers from 1700 to the present.
India, Raj and Empire
provides documents from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland pertaining to the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India.
Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850
provides full-text and full-page-image access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century
Periodicals Index Online
Indexes periodicals from their first issues to 1995. Now contains hundreds of full-text periodicals.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries.
State Papers Online: the Government of Britain, 1509-1714
a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly online.
The Times Digital Archive
Search The Times (London) from 1785-1985 in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles. HINT: search in full-text rather than keyword to get the best retrieval.