LibGuides: Geography (Human/Cultural): Getting Started

Duke Programs

A Dictionary of Geography
By Susan Mayhew, from Oxford University Press. Paper at Perkins Ref. G63 .M39 2009
A Dictionary of Human Geography
From Oxford University Press.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
From Elsevier
The international encyclopedia of geography : people, the earth, environment, and technology
From Wiley, in association with the American of Association Geographers (AAG). Long entries on both human and physical geography.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Geography
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in geography.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Descendant of the Columbia Lippincott Gazetteer. Paper at Perkins Reference and Lilly Reference, at G103.5 .C645 2008
The World Factbook
From the CIA.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (U. of Texas)
Many scanned images of out-of-copyright maps, particularly from the CIA.
The Dictionary of Human Geography
From Blackwell Publishers. Paper at Perkins Ref. GF4 .D52 2009
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
From Sage Publications.
Encyclopedia of Geography
From Sage Publications.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
From Sage Publications. Paper at Perkins Ref. GF4 .E54 2006

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, reports, edited works, and obituaries in anthropology
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the field of sociology
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Good for literary treatments of geography and space or for a philosophical or critical theory perspective on geography and space.
World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
Empirical data, including World Development Indicators (WDI).

CIA World Factbook
Basic information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.