Follow the Ruble: Getting Started

Slavic-specific Databases

• American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
  Citations for studies published in North America from 1990 to the present; coverage back to 1956 available in hard copy in Perkins Reference
• JSTOR Slavic
  Go to "Advanced Search" and narrow results by Discipline "Slavic Studies" (19 journal titles).
• Slavic Humanities Index
  Bibliographic database that indexes current scholarly and cultural periodicals in Slavic humanities from all over eastern Europe. 1994-present.

General Databases on Literature

·  MLA International Bibliography
Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies

·  ProQuest One Literature
This database brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.

·  Literature Resource Center
Find biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors.

·  Humanities International Complete

Search for journal articles in the humanities, fine arts, and performance arts

·  Dictionary of Literary Biography
Search for biographical articles on the lives, works, and careers of literary figures from all eras and genres

Economic topics in literary works

1. Conduct a "Subject" search in the "Books &  Media" tab of the library's online catalog for the following Library of Congress-defined subject headings:

• Money in literature
• Coins in literature
• Economics in literature
• Debt in literature
• Rural conditions in literature
• Peasants in literature
• Industrial revolution in literature
• Industries in literature

2. Limit the results by "Language" (English) and geographic region "About" (Russia)

3. Conduct the same search in WorldCat

Unread Russian Authors in the Syllabus

Conduct a "Subject" search in the "Books &  Media" tab of the library's online catalog for the following Library of Congress-defined subject headings:

• Dostoyevsky, Fyodor, 1821-1881
• Olesha, I͡Uriĭ Karlovich, 1899-1960
• Platonov, Andreĭ Platonovich, 1899-1951 
• Balabanov, Alekseĭ, 1959-2013
• Bodrov, Sergeĭ, 1971-2002

• [Author's name, dates] -- Criticism and interpretation

• [Author's name, dates]. [Title in Russian], e.g. Dostoyevsky, Fyodor, 1821-1881. Idiot

• Russian literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism

• Russian literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism

2. Limit the results by "Language" (English)

3. Conduct the same search in WorldCat and limit the results by language (English)

Useful Books

• Jillian Porter, Economies of feeling : Russian literature under Nicholas I. Evanston, Illinois : Northwestern University Press, 2017.
• Vadim Shneyder, Russia's capitalist realism : Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, and Chekhov. [Evanston, Illinois] : Northwestern University Press, [2021].
• Beth Holmgren, Rewriting capitalism : literature and the market in late Tsarist Russia and the Kingdom of Poland. Pittsburgh : University of Pittsburgh Press, c1998.

All dissertations include extensive bibliographies of primary (archival) and secondary sources (books and articles) on very specific topics.

• ProQuest dissertations & theses global  -- search by
  • keywords ("brat and balabanov")
  • title ("money and literature in russia")
  • subject = subject("Russian literature") subject("money")
• Dissertations Library of the Russian State Library (in Russian) -- summaries (avtoreferaty) available online

• The Cambridge History of Russian Literature (search "money")
• Dostoevsky's The idiot : a critical companion, edited by Liza Knapp.  Evanston, Ill. : Northwestern University Press : American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages, 1998.
• Olesha's Envy: a critical companion, edited by Rimgaila Salys.  Evanston, Ill. : Northwestern University Press, 1999.
• Thomas Seifrid. A companion to Andrei Platonov's The foundation pit. Boston : Academic Studies Press, 2009.