Skip to main content

British Empire: Home

Background Info

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online. Atlantic History 
    Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the subject area of Atlantic History. The study of Atlantic History examines the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern period.

Databases

  • Historical Abstracts Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
  • Bibliography of British and Irish Studies
    A comprehensive index to books, articles, and primary sources about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from the Roman period to the present day. Now includes Texts and Calendars, Irish History Online and London's Past Online. Available to all users.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
  • Periodicals Index Online
    Indexes over 15 million articles in over 4500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences back as far as 1665. Now includes some full text.

Delhi Durbar

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway's picture
Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu