Latinx History at Duke University

This guide is designed to introduce you to University Archives resources on Duke's Latinx history. It is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography, though University Archives staff periodically review and update it as our collections expand.

The information in this guide is separated into five sections:

• Secondary Sources: Research papers, publications, and more about Duke's Latinx history. The resources here are specific to Duke (rather than, say, a general scholarly work about Latinx students in US higher education).
• Archival Collections: A selection of archival collections that are likely to be central to your research. This list isn't a substitute for a thorough catalog and collection guide database search, but these collections will probably become familiar territory.
• Duke Publications: Key publications produced for Duke students, faculty, staff, and alumni, which provide excellent contemporaneous accounts of campus events and dialogues. 
• Photographs, Audio Recordings, & Film/Video: Information on how to search for photographs, audio recordings, and film/video in our collections.
• Related Websites & Online Resources: A selection of Duke produced related websites and resources, and student groups and campus organizations. 

The Duke University Archives, part of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, is the official repository for the historical records of Duke University. Visit our website to learn more about us!

The materials described in this guide may be used in the Rubenstein Library's reading room.

Please note that university administrative records are restricted for 25 years, except with written permission from the office that created the records. Board of Trustees records are restricted for 50 years, except with written permission from the Board of Trustees. Find more information about University Archives access policies.

Helpful Links:

• Reading Room hours
• Directions to the Rubenstein Library reading room
• Register as a Rubenstein Library patron and request materials
• Ordering reproductions of Rubenstein Library materials
• How to cite Rubenstein Library materials

Whether you're looking for students, faculty, or staff, the Chronicle is always a great first place to search! Be aware that faculty and staff members' position titles may change over time, so browse through your search results list for an article from roughly the same time period you're researching--that way, you'll know exactly what role the faculty or staff member served in at that time.

If you're looking for a faculty or staff member, there are some other things you might try:

1. Search on their name in the Rubenstein Library's collection guide database. You may find a mention of them in a collection guide that'll explain who they are. Or if we have their papers, the collection guide will include a biographical note about them--and you can also see if there's anything in their papers that might be relevant to your research!
2. Googling is totally fine! They may have a wikipedia page or scholarly journals may include obituaries when they die--those often come up in google searches.
3. If you really want to know all about the person, check and see if they have a folder in the News Service Biographical Files or the Biographical Reference Collection.

For faculty, staff, or students/alums, you can also use Ancestry to locate census records, immigration documentation, and more.