Want to learn more about Disability Studies? These books give an introduction to research being done in this field.
Ira King's research guide for Disability Studies is a great place to get an overview of this topic.
To find more resources on other subjects, click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter the database name, or click Find Databases by Subject. Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print. Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.
The Merrick/Washington Magazine for the Blind can be found in the Durham County Public Library's North Carolina Collection. The collection documents the editorial history of Negro Braille Magazine (now the Merrick-Washington Magazine for the Blind ), published in Durham, N.C., primarily focusing on the 1970s and early 1980s. The core of the collection is a series of original paste-ups for magazine issues dating from December 1973 through December 1980. The collection contains many complete issues of the magazine from 1973 to 2007, whether in their Braille or non-Braille versions. For a detailed account of the magazine's history through 1984, see Delores Martin Towles' publication, A Gift of Love: The Negro Braille Magazine Story (also housed in the North Carolina Collection).
"The Americans with Disabilities Act was passed by Congress in 1990. It was amended by Congress in 2008 [An amendment that broadened definitions of disability, expanding protection and services to more people.]. This is the law that protects the civil rights of people with disabilities in many aspects of public life." - ada.gov
Check out this research guide by the Library of Congress, "Disability Law in the United States: A Beginner's Guide," to understand and explore the history and legislation around disability law.
Learn more by listening to ADA Live!, a monthly podcast that explores topics with guests who have "knowledge, experience, and successful strategies that increase the participation of persons with disabilities in communities and businesses." An episode guide can be found here.
For more digging, check out Duke librarian, Ryan Denniston's, research guide on the Legislative Process.
Understanding the ADA by 
Rights of Inclusion by 
The Disability Rights Movement by 
A Disability History of the United States by 
There Plant Eyes by 
More Than Meets the Eye by 
Organizing the Blind by 
Cockeyed by 
People of Vision by 
