Skip to main content

Rubenstein Library Resources on Diplomacy and International Relations: Global Resources: Environment, Energy, Water, Technology, Food

Designed to support the Rethinking Diplomacy Program, this guide provides an overview of resources available in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Liquid Assets

Water

Franklin M. Fisher Papers, 1958-2009.

Economist and professor of economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The collection comprises Fisher's professional papers spanning a fifty-year career, and contains correspondence, drafts of articles and other writings, research notes and reprints of his published writings. Also included are files related to professional associations; lectures, conferences and meetings he attended; courses taught by Fisher; legal cases for which Fisher served as a consultant; and Fisher's collaboration with Karl Shell regarding price indexes. There is also a series of subject files. Of specific relevance are materials related to Fisher's role in the Harvard Middle East Water Project, the Peace Now Project, and other projects seeking to bring peace through water allocation.

Leroy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive, 1952-1998 and undated (bulk 1952-1994)

The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive is an extensive resource file assembled by ANS over the course of two decades in support of its news gathering efforts about Africa-related issues and U. S. foreign policy towards Africa. The collection spans the years from approximately 1960 to 1995, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1978 through 1994. Newspaper clippings, magazine articles, press releases, newsletters, brochures, and reports comprise the collection. Much of the material is gathered from mainstream media sources and government documentation in the United States, Europe, Africa, and other parts of the world. In addition, the collection includes significant resources from alternative, minority, and special interest presses world-wide that may be difficult to locate elsewhere. The archive contains scarce and difficult-to-locate materials such as numerous publications produced by non-governmental organizations and grass-roots/community groups that are/were involved in efforts related to independence movements, economic development, and human rights issues in Africa. Search this lengthy guide by the keyword water to identify specific folders that might be useful.

Louis H. Roddis Papers, 1823-1990

Collection reflects career of Louis H. Roddis in the general field of energy with emphasis on policy and strategic issues. Topics include electric power, gas resources, petroleum, water power, energy conservation, the energy crisis of the 1970s, nuclear power, and alternative energy sources. Primarily documented in the collection are developments with nuclear power and within the nuclear industry including materials related to the Chernobyl and Three Mile Island accidents. The collection also reflects Roddis' participation in a variety of public service, charitable, industrial, and trade organizations.

Energy

Center for International Policy Records, 1960-2016 and undated

Non-profit organization founded in 1975, based in Washington, DC, whose chief focus is promoting changes in U.S. foreign and military policy in support of global human rights. The records of the Center for International Policy (CIP) span the years 1960 to 2016, and document in detail the organization's global activities in support of human rights as well as its internal administration, funding, and public relations outreach. CIP's chief areas of interest lie in United States foreign and military policies, including the activities of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA); topics cover human rights issues, U.S. relations with Central and South America, demilitarization, nuclear weapons, the Cuban trade embargo, money laundering and other aspects of international finance, terrorism, and the narcotics trade. The bulk of the files take the form of administrative files and records which contain correspondence, memos, data, reports, travel documents, and extensive files on other organizations; there are also many files of printed materials such as pamphlets, newsletters, and press releases.Search the guide by keyword (e.g. oil, natural gas, nuclear) to identify relevant folders.

Josephus Daniels Papers, 1904-1954

Josephus Daniels (1904-1954) served as Secretary of the Navy and Ambassador to Mexico, and editor of the Raleigh News and Observer. The "Mexico" subseries in the Topical Series contains information about the relationship between the United States and Mexico on a number of issues, including the petroleum industry, commerce, and a "Memorandum for the Ambassador" outlining steps that may have been taken by the United States government during the early months of 1917 to determine where Mexico would stand in the event the United States entered World War I.

Louis H. Roddis Papers, 1823-1990

Collection reflects career of Louis H. Roddis in the general field of energy with emphasis on policy and strategic issues. Topics include electric power, gas resources, petroleum, water power, energy conservation, the energy crisis of the 1970s, nuclear power, and alternative energy sources. Primarily documented in the collection are developments with nuclear power and within the nuclear industry including materials related to the Chernobyl and Three Mile Island accidents. The collection also reflects Roddis' participation in a variety of public service, charitable, industrial, and trade organizations.

Leroy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive, 1952-1998 and undated (bulk 1952-1994)

The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive is an extensive resource file assembled by ANS over the course of two decades in support of its news gathering efforts about Africa-related issues and U. S. foreign policy towards Africa. The collection spans the years from approximately 1960 to 1995, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1978 through 1994. Newspaper clippings, magazine articles, press releases, newsletters, brochures, and reports comprise the collection. Much of the material is gathered from mainstream media sources and government documentation in the United States, Europe, Africa, and other parts of the world. In addition, the collection includes significant resources from alternative, minority, and special interest presses world-wide that may be difficult to locate elsewhere. The archive contains scarce and difficult-to-locate materials such as numerous publications produced by non-governmental organizations and grass-roots/community groups that are/were involved in efforts related to independence movements, economic development, and human rights issues in Africa. Search this lengthy guide by keyword (oil, natural gas, nuclear, etc.) to identify specific folders that might be useful.

Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) records

Environment

Center for International Policy Records, 1960-2016 and undated

Non-profit organization founded in 1975, based in Washington, DC, whose chief focus is promoting changes in U.S. foreign and military policy in support of global human rights. The records of the Center for International Policy (CIP) span the years 1960 to 2016, and document in detail the organization's global activities in support of human rights as well as its internal administration, funding, and public relations outreach. CIP's chief areas of interest lie in United States foreign and military policies, including the activities of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA); topics cover human rights issues, U.S. relations with Central and South America, demilitarization, nuclear weapons, the Cuban trade embargo, money laundering and other aspects of international finance, terrorism, and the narcotics trade. The bulk of the files take the form of administrative files and records which contain correspondence, memos, data, reports, travel documents, and extensive files on other organizations; there are also many files of printed materials such as pamphlets, newsletters, and press releases.Search the guide by the keyword environment to identify relevant folders.

Myrick Freeman Papers, 1967-2010

Myrick Freeman III is the William D. Shipman Professor of Economics, Emeritus, at Bowdoin College, where he has worked since 1965. The Myrick Freeman papers date from approximately 1970 to 2010 and document Freeman's career as a prominent economist at Bowdoin College and senior fellow at Resources for the Future in Washington, D.C. The materials in the collection cover Freeman's consulting work, participation in conferences and workshops, writings, as well as testimony for the U.S. Congress and other government entities.Search the guide by the keyword environment to identify relevant material.

Balance as Bias in the Media Coverage of Climate Change, Jamie Friedland. (Duke thesis, 2008.)

Technology

Leroy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive, 1952-1998 and undated (bulk 1952-1994)

The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive is an extensive resource file assembled by ANS over the course of two decades in support of its news gathering efforts about Africa-related issues and U. S. foreign policy towards Africa. The collection spans the years from approximately 1960 to 1995, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1978 through 1994. Newspaper clippings, magazine articles, press releases, newsletters, brochures, and reports comprise the collection. Much of the material is gathered from mainstream media sources and government documentation in the United States, Europe, Africa, and other parts of the world. In addition, the collection includes significant resources from alternative, minority, and special interest presses world-wide that may be difficult to locate elsewhere. The archive contains scarce and difficult-to-locate materials such as numerous publications produced by non-governmental organizations and grass-roots/community groups that are/were involved in efforts related to independence movements, economic development, and human rights issues in Africa. Search this lengthy guide by keyword (oil, natural gas, nuclear, etc.) to identify specific folders that might be useful. Search the lengthy collection guide using the word technology to identify specific folders that may be relevant.

Food

Center for International Policy Records, 1960-2016 and undated

Non-profit organization founded in 1975, based in Washington, DC, whose chief focus is promoting changes in U.S. foreign and military policy in support of global human rights. The records of the Center for International Policy (CIP) span the years 1960 to 2016, and document in detail the organization's global activities in support of human rights as well as its internal administration, funding, and public relations outreach. CIP's chief areas of interest lie in United States foreign and military policies, including the activities of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA); topics cover human rights issues, U.S. relations with Central and South America, demilitarization, nuclear weapons, the Cuban trade embargo, money laundering and other aspects of international finance, terrorism, and the narcotics trade. The bulk of the files take the form of administrative files and records which contain correspondence, memos, data, reports, travel documents, and extensive files on other organizations; there are also many files of printed materials such as pamphlets, newsletters, and press releases.Search the guide by keyword (e.g. agriculture, agricultural, food) to identify relevant folders.

Leroy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive, 1952-1998 and undated (bulk 1952-1994)

The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive is an extensive resource file assembled by ANS over the course of two decades in support of its news gathering efforts about Africa-related issues and U. S. foreign policy towards Africa. The collection spans the years from approximately 1960 to 1995, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1978 through 1994. Newspaper clippings, magazine articles, press releases, newsletters, brochures, and reports comprise the collection. Much of the material is gathered from mainstream media sources and government documentation in the United States, Europe, Africa, and other parts of the world. In addition, the collection includes significant resources from alternative, minority, and special interest presses world-wide that may be difficult to locate elsewhere. The archive contains scarce and difficult-to-locate materials such as numerous publications produced by non-governmental organizations and grass-roots/community groups that are/were involved in efforts related to independence movements, economic development, and human rights issues in Africa.Search the lengthy guide by keyword (food, starvation, drought, etc.) to identify folders with relevant material.

Wolfgang F. Stolper Papers, 1892-2001 (bulk [1930s-1990s]

Professor of economics, University of Michigan.  The papers of Wolfgang F. Stolper (ca. 9900 items) span the period from 1947-1988, with the bulk of the materials dated between 1960 and the mid 1970s. Most of the collection is comprised of Professor Stolper's files and notes from his work in Nigeria, Tunisia, and other missions to Africa. These work files document his career as a practitioner--literally working "in the field"--of development economics. Search the guide by keyword (e.g. agriculture, agricultural) to identify relevant material.

Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) records