Skip to main content

Rubenstein Library Resources on Diplomacy and International Relations: Diplomats' Papers

Designed to support the Rethinking Diplomacy Program, this guide provides an overview of resources available in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Western Europe

Arthur F. Burns Papers, 1911-2005 and undated, bulk 1940-1987

Arthur Frank Burns was an Austrian-born economist, policy maker, and diplomat; chair of U.S. Federal Reserve Board from 1970-1978 and economic advisor for six U.S. presidencies.The bulk of the material was created between 1940 and 1987 and pertains to Burns's career as an economic advisor, particularly to Republican administrations, as the chair of the Federal Reserve, and as ambassador to Germany. Topics of interest in this collection include but are not limited to: the United States economic system and fiscal policies; the Federal Reserve Board and related committees; recessions, unemployment, and inflation; the world economy and finance; the U.S. presidency during the time period; the Nixon presidency in particular, including the Watergate affair; presidential campaigns and elections; and U.S. diplomacy. The most significant component of the collection is the correspondence between Arthur Burns and Presidents Eisenhower, Nixon, Kennedy, Ford, Carter, Reagan, and George H. W. Bush, as well as substantive exchanges with economists Milton Friedman and Wesley Clair Mitchell.

Angier Biddle Duke papers, 1915-1990s and undated, bulk 1950-1995

Chief of Protocol and ambassador to Spain, Morocco, and Denmark under the Kennedy, Johnson, and Carter administrations; resident of New York, N.Y., Long Island, N.Y., and Washington, D.C. The collection documents Angier Biddle Duke's life and career, especially his role in United States politics and diplomacy during the Kennedy and Johnson administrations, as well as his philanthropic activities and his leadership roles in non-profit institutions. In addition, the papers contain information on economic and social conditions in post-war Europe during Duke's ambassadorship to Spain, and information on Pakistani refugees and other international crises. Other topics include civil rights and desegregation (especially in Washington, DC).

Brenda Schoonover Papers, 1994-2008

Brenda Schoonover was the former ambassador to Togo (1998-2000) and the interim ambassador to Belgium (2003-2004). Accession (2009-0259) (1000 items; 2.1 lin. ft.; 1994-2008) consists largely of speech files and other items created by Schoonover during the latter part of her career in the U.S. Foreign Service, including her ambassadorship to Togo, her time as Diplomat-in-Residence at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and her subsequent post as Charge d'Affaires at the U.S. Embassy in Belgium, where she became interim ambassador in 2003. Speech topics range from international diplomacy, the Peace Corps, September 11th, trade, foreign relations, and West Africa development.

South Asia

Allen-Angier family papers, 1843-1971

Collection contains correspondence, speeches, clippings, and printed material, chiefly relating to the career of George Venable Allen (1903-1970), diplomat, director of the U.S. Information Agency, and president of the Tobacco Institute. Includes material on the U.S. Foreign Service, the U.S. Information Agency, U.S. foreign relations, India, Iran, the tobacco industry, and the cigarette smoking and health controversy.

Patricia Murphy Derian Papers, 1962-2008 and undated

Patricia Murphy Derian is an activist, organizer, researcher, and served as the first Assistant Secretary of State for Human Rights (HR) and Humanitarian Affairs (HA), a bureau of the executive branch created in 1977 during the Carter Administration. The papers of Patricia M. Derian document her involvement and interventions concerning international human rights, and to a lesser extent, civil liberties and women's rights.Her files include material on Asian countries. (See the collection guide or the more detailed description under Latin America on this page for more information.)

Jack Matlock

Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union

Hugh Gladney Grant Papers, 1847-1939

U.S. Minister to Albania, 1935-1939. With the exception of his diary, these papers are largely Grant's correspondence and other records from his service as U.S. Minister to Albania, 1935-1939. His extensive diary covers this period, but most of it, as does some of his correspondence and other records, covers the period (1927-1933) while he was secretary to Sen. Hugo L. Black. Other topics covered in detail include Albania and its King Zog, administration of the U.S. Legation in that country, and the rise of Mussolini and Hitler. Between 1933 and 1935, he was in the Division of Western European Affairs in the Department of State, and that service is also covered in this collection.

Percy Lyham Loraine Papers, 1905-1938

Sir Percy Lyham Loraine (1880-1961), was the 12th Baronet of Kirk Harle, Northumberland, and a British diplomat. After joining the Diplomatic Service in 1904, Loraine was stationed in Istanbul, Turkey, for three years before transfer to Iran, Greece, Egypt, and other locations. The collection includes correspondence concerning diplomatic matters in Turkey and the surrounding area (1906-1909, 1929, 1935?, 1938) and a detailed narrative journal by Loraine relating to Egyptian activity on the Turkish border near Akaba (Aqabah), 1905-1906.

Jack and Rebecca Matlock Papers, 1930s-2017

Jack Faust Matlock was US Ambassador to the Soviet Union from 1987-1991. This collection includes materials from him and his wife, photographer Rebecca Matlock, dating largely from the 1940s through the mid-2010s. The bulk of items relates to their work for the US Foreign Service; they were officially stationed in Washington, Moscow, Prague, Accra, Dar es Salaam, and Zanzibar and traveled extensively throughout the world. Jack Matlock was a key figure in the Ronald Reagan administration and participated in almost every US-USSR summit from the 1970s until his retirement in 1991. Also present in the collection are diaries, writings, memoranda, reports, clippings, interviews, photographs, event files, audiovisual materials, and other documents regarding the Matlocks' career, travels, interests, family life, and scholarship.

Jerome J. Shestack papers, 1944-2011 and undated, bulk 1965-2000

Jerome Shestack was a prominent lawyer and human rights advocate. His papers chiefly document the leadership roles he undertook for social justice organizations such as the American Bar Association, the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, the International League for Human Rights, the United Nations Commission on Human Rights, and many others, and the histories of those entities. Series include extensive correspondence and subject files, organization files, writings and speeches, publications and clippings, as well as a small collection of personal files, photographs, and Shestack's World War II diary. Topics covered in the collection include but are not limited to: the history of the American Bar Association; law and legislation related to international and domestic human and civil rights; American government policies on human rights; Jewish human rights issues; the defense of political dissidents such as Andrei Sakharov; disappeared persons in Argentina; and the rights of the mentally disabled..

Africa

Brenda Schoonover Papers, 1994-2008

Brenda Schoonover was the former ambassador to Togo (1998-2000) and the interim ambassador to Belgium (2003-2004). Accession (2009-0259) (1000 items; 2.1 lin. ft.; 1994-2008) consists largely of speech files and other items created by Schoonover during the latter part of her career in the U.S. Foreign Service, including her ambassadorship to Togo, her time as Diplomat-in-Residence at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and her subsequent post as Charge d'Affaires at the U.S. Embassy in Belgium, where she became interim ambassador in 2003. Speech topics range from international diplomacy, the Peace Corps, September 11th, trade, foreign relations, and West Africa development.

Juan E. Méndez papers, 1980-2017 and undated

Middle East

Patricia Murphy Derian Papers, 1962-2008 and undated

Patricia Murphy Derian is an activist, organizer, researcher, and served as the first Assistant Secretary of State for Human Rights (HR) and Humanitarian Affairs (HA), a bureau of the executive branch created in 1977 during the Carter Administration. The papers of Patricia M. Derian document her involvement and interventions concerning international human rights, and to a lesser extent, civil liberties and women's rights.Her files include material on Middle Eastern countries. (See the collection guide or the more detailed description under Latin America on this page for more information.)

Percy Lyham Loraine Papers, 1905-1938

Sir Percy Lyham Loraine (1880-1961), was the 12th Baronet of Kirk Harle, Northumberland, and a British diplomat. After joining the Diplomatic Service in 1904, Loraine was stationed in Istanbul, Turkey, for three years before transfer to Iran, Greece, Egypt, and other locations. The collection includes correspondence concerning diplomatic matters in Turkey and the surrounding area (1906-1909, 1929, 1935?, 1938) and a detailed narrative journal by Loraine relating to Egyptian activity on the Turkish border near Akaba (Aqabah), 1905-1906.

Latin America

Center for International Policy Records, 1960-2016 and undated

Non-profit organization founded in 1975, based in Washington, DC, whose chief focus is promoting changes in U.S. foreign and military policy in support of global human rights. Of specific relevance: the Robert White Papers Series, 1971-2014 and undated.White was hired as president of the Center for International Policy (CIP) in 1989, a position he held until his death in 2015. During his tenure at the CIP, he presided at conferences and led delegations to several Latin American and Caribbean countries, published numerous studies of U.S. policy toward the region, and led an ongoing effort to reform U.S. intelligence agencies. White's files are divided into five subseries: Correspondence, People, Speeches, Subject Files, and Travel.

Patricia Murphy Derian Papers, 1962-2008 and undated

Patricia Murphy Derian is an activist, organizer, researcher, and served as the first Assistant Secretary of State for Human Rights (HR) and Humanitarian Affairs (HA), a bureau of the executive branch created in 1977 during the Carter Administration. The papers of Patricia M. Derian document her involvement and interventions concerning international human rights, and to a lesser extent, civil liberties and women's rights. The collection comprises Derian's personal notes; correspondence with state officials, friends and human rights activists; unclassified State Department documents; reports; interviews; memorabilia; and news clippings. These and other materials provide valuable insights to the history of human rights activism and major cases of human rights violations from the early 1970s up to the second term of the George W. Bush administration. The scope of Derian's papers is extensive, covering the history of human rights movements and national policies and politics since the early 1970s in Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America. Topics include U.S. foreign and military policies, repercussions of those policies, and disappearances, torture and other forms of violation of human rights. Derian's papers include subject files on Argentina, El Salvador, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, South Korea, Vietnam, and Middle Eastern countries, as well as smaller files on sixteen other countries. Many of these country files cover several decades of information and analysis. Especially significant are documents concerning U.S.-El Salvador and U.S.-Argentina relations during the 1970s and 1980s.

Alan K. Manchester Papers, 1905-1975

Educator, historian, cultural affairs liaison and consultant, and administrator. He was a professor of history and administrator at Duke from 1929-1967. In addition, Manchester served as cultural affairs officer at the United States Embassy in Rio de Janeiro (1951-1952), specialist for the U. S. State Department's International Exchange Service Program (Summers of 1954-55) and consultant (1956-1958).

Heraldo Muñoz Papers, 1963-2013 and undated

Chilean politician, diplomat, author, and ambassador to the United Nations. Spanning the period of 1963 to 2013, the Heraldo Muñoz Papers contain materials related to Muñoz's work as a researcher and diplomat, and his role in the Chilean Socialist Party. Primarily consisting of handwritten notes, correspondence, reports, policy documents, printed materials, and electronic files, the collection emphasizes Chilean domestic and international politics from 1970 to 2010 (including the 1973 coup and the Pinochet dictatorship) and the United Nations' (UN) work on sanctions, counter-terrorism, and peacebuilding from 2003 to 2013. The collection is organized into the following series: Charles Horman Case Files, Chile - Domestic Politics; Chile - Foreign Policy; Correspondence and Clippings; International Work; Memorabilia; Photographs; and Commission of Inquiry. The largest group of materials relates to Muñoz's work at the UN.

Jerome J. Shestack papers, 1944-2011 and undated, bulk 1965-2000

Jerome Shestack was a prominent lawyer and human rights advocate. His papers chiefly document the leadership roles he undertook for social justice organizations such as the American Bar Association, the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, the International League for Human Rights, the United Nations Commission on Human Rights, and many others, and the histories of those entities. Series include extensive correspondence and subject files, organization files, writings and speeches, publications and clippings, as well as a small collection of personal files, photographs, and Shestack's World War II diary. Topics covered in the collection include but are not limited to: the history of the American Bar Association; law and legislation related to international and domestic human and civil rights; American government policies on human rights; Jewish human rights issues; the defense of political dissidents such as Andrei Sakharov; disappeared persons in Argentina; and the rights of the mentally disabled..