H. Lee Waters Films

• H. Lee Waters Film Collection, David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Duke University.  Original reversal reels of Movies of Local People, as well as copies on other media (VHS, Umatic, DVD) of reels that were never transferred to the Library or were deteriorated past saving.  The collection also contains Waters' home movies, log books, marketing materials for Movies of Local People, and oral histories.
• H. Lee Waters - Pictures of a Lifetime, Davidson County Historical Museum.  The Davidson County Historical Museum in Lexington, North Carolina, holds Waters' large collection of still photography.
• State Archive of North Carolina YouTube Channel - Contains several of Waters' films not in the Duke collection.
• Digital NC - Movies of Local People: Films by H. Lee Waters - Digital initiative at the University of North Carolina connecting users to a selection of Waters' films held at the State Archive of North Carolina.
• Internet Archive - H. Lee Waters - Another portal to the Waters' films held at the State Archive of North Carolina.

• Martin L. Johnson, Main Street Movies: The History of Local Film in the United States.  
• NCPedia, Town Documentaries

"The Cameraman Has Visited Our Town" is a film about H. Lee Waters made by Tom Whiteside in 1989.  Whiteside was an early advocate of bringing the Waters films to Duke, and contributed significantly to the building of the collection.

Duke Performances commissioned Jenny Scheinman, an acclaimed composer, singer, and violinist, to make an original live score set to 70-year-old archival footage taken by the late North Carolina filmmaker H. Lee Waters. Scheinman and a trio of top-flight musicians created a soundtrack of new folksongs, fiddle music, and field sounds to accompany Waters’ fascinating footage of the Piedmont in the early ’40s. While Scheinman and director Finn Taylor started with the film of Kannapolis, their project integrated footage from other Waters films as well.