Center for Data and Visualization Sciences (CDVS)
The Center for Data and Visualization Sciences can help with locating data, managing data, and provide advice on analysis as well. We offer workshops, a lab, and consultations to help you from research design to honors defense. Contact us at askdata@duke.edu
#@duke_data- The latest Twitter news, collections, and workshops from duke_data
Find Statistics and Numeric Data
General Social Survey (GSSDIRS)
The GSSDIRS website provides online access to the General Social Survey conducted by NORC. The online interface provides data from 1972-2000. See also http://sda.berkeley.edu:7502/cgi-bin/hsda?harcsda+gss02 for another interface to the GSS.
ICPSR Data Archive
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, is a membership-based organization which collects data from individual researchers, polling agencies, and governmental and international agencies. Its purpose is to maximize the availability and utilization of data resources by obtaining data and the technical documentation needed to access them for redistribution to its membership. Duke University's membership in ICPSR allows all Duke researchers to use ICPSR resources free of charge.
American National Election Studies
The ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research and development work through pilot studies in odd-numbered years. The NES time-series now encompasses 26 election studies spanning over five decades. The longevity of the NES time-series greatly enhances the utility of the data, since measures can be pooled over time, and both long-term trends and the political impact of historical events can be identified. Registration required.
Statistics and Numeric Data
National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1997
"The NLSY97 consists of a nationally representative sample of approximately 9,000 youths who were 12 to 16 years old as of December 31, 1996. Round 1 of the survey took place in 1997. In that round, both the eligible youth and one of that youth's parents received hour-long personal interviews. In addition, during the screening process, an extensive two-part questionnaire was administered that listed and gathered demographic information on members of the youth's household and on his or her immediate family members living elsewhere. Youths are interviewed on an annual basis." -- From the Bureau of Labor Statistics website
Search for data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations. NOTE: Users must register for a personal account. Previous login credentials will not provide access to Roper iPoll. A new account will be required.
Develop interactive thematic maps and reports using more than 100,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Includes data from the US Census, the American Community Survey (ACS), the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory, and MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset.
Census Data
Census Data
The primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
Government Information
Data.gov - data collections generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government
Quality of Government (QoG) Data- A collection of data sets covering economic, political, and social issues related to the quality of government.
