ENV 390K: Systems Thinking and Resource Management Modeling: Citing Sources

• Overview of Systems Thinking

  Daniel Aronson. Overview of Systems Thinking. thinking.net. 1996.
• What Is Systems Thinking? – Peter Senge Explains Systems Thinking Approach And Principles
• Introducing Complexity and Systems Thinking

  On May 7, 2013 Making the Connections exhibit opened at Urbanspace Gallery. This presentation opened the exhibit introducing complexity and systems thinking, and how they relate to the social determinants of health.

This video was produced by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research and was filmed during the launch of the Alliance's 2009 Flagship Report: Systems Thinking for Health Systems Strengthening, at the Global Forum for Health Research in Cuba last November 2009. It features experts and policy-makers from LMIC's providing their views on Systems thinking and its potential contribution to health systems strengthening in developing countries. For more information: http://www.who.int/alliance-hpsr

Barry Schwartz dives into the question "How do we do the right thing?" With help from collaborator Kenneth Sharpe, he shares stories that illustrate the difference between following the rules and truly choosing wisely.

Why do people feel so miserable and disengaged at work? Because today's businesses are increasingly and dizzyingly complex — and traditional pillars of management are obsolete, says Yves Morieux. So, he says, it falls to individual employees to navigate the rabbit's warren of interdependencies. In this energetic talk, Morieux offers six rules for "smart simplicity." (Rule One: Understand what your colleagues actually do.)

• Organizational Analysis

  In this introductory, self-study course, you will learn multiple theories of organizational behavior and apply them to actual cases of organizational change.
  
  This course is made available by the Stanford University in Stanford, California.
• Fixing Healthcare Delivery

  Each year 100,000 patients die from preventable errors in the U.S. How can you help to change this intractable problem? Knowledge is power, and this course will provide you with a deep understanding of the problems and the solutions. You can become part of the solution.
  
  This course is made available by the University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida.

• Systems & Design Thinking: A Conceptual Framework for Their Integration

  Presented at the International Society for the Systems Sciences (ISSS) 55th Annual Conference, "All Together Now: Working Across Disciplines," at University of Hull, Hull, UK, July 17–22, 2011.
• Systems Thinking to Improve the Public’s Health

  This paper lays a foundation for the conceptual understanding of systems thinking and transdisciplinary research, and provides illustrative examples within and beyond public health. A set of recommendations for a systems-centric approach to translational science is presented.
• Peter Senge and the learning organization

  Smith, M. K. (2001) ‘Peter Senge and the learning organization’, the encyclopedia of informal education. http://infed.org/mobi/peter-senge-and-the-learning-organization/. Retrieved: 2015]

Plagiarism charges can be brought against you for the following offenses:

• Copying, quoting, paraphrasing, or summarizing from any source without adequate documentation
• Purchasing a pre-written paper (either by mail or electronically)
• Letting someone else write a paper for you
• Paying someone else to write a paper for you
• Submitting as your own someone else's unpublished work, either with or without permission

What do I cite? For your latest research assignment, you consulted books, journal articles and web sites, viewed a film pertinent to your topic, and even interviewed your roommate. Now, you are ready to write. Do you really need to cite all these sources? The short answer is yes. If you are incorporating an author’s ideas into your paper, or if the work of another has influenced your thinking on a topic, then the source must be cited. It doesn’t matter what the source is. It could be a book, journal article, web site, message from a listserv, television program, speech or a government document. Just remember, if you are using another’s words or ideas, cite them.

Citation Tools: You may choose either one and it helps you to organize your citations and create bibliography with your desided style in a minute.

• Zotero: A free and friendly citation management software.
• EndNote: EndNote allows you to search online bibliographic databases, organize references and create and format instant bibliographies. It's integrated with Microsoft Word as well.

1. Follow the format your professor suggests.
2. Ask your professor what to use if no format was assigned.
3. If you have no advice from your professor, try these:
   
   

   Humanities (especially literature or languages):Modern Language Association (MLA) Handbook

   
   

   Social sciences (especially psychology and behavioral science):American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual

   
   

   Physical and natural sciences:CSE (Council of Scientific Editors) Manual

   
   

   A general guide:Turabian is used by students in all disciplines. It is designed to complement the Chicago Manual of Style, but be simpler and easier to use.

   
   

   A very detailed guide:The Chicago Manual of Style is used by scholarly writers in all disciplines. It contains two separate styles, one for writers in literature, history, and the arts, and one for writers in the physical, natural and social sciences.