LibGuides: MEM Guide for Finding, Using and Citing Sources: Finding sources

Key article databases

These databases range from large, interdisciplinary citation databases to policy-specific databases to environmentally-focused databases. Some databases will provide full-text access links, while others you will need to search for through our website. You can also browse databases by subject, such as environmental sciences or earth & climate sciences.

Looking for tips on how to search a scholarly database? Check out the Search the Literature section of our literature reviews guide.

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles related to agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and reports of U.S. and international education research, including research on higher education
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and reports in education
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Search for earth science journal articles and U.S. Geological Survey publications
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in both the applied and general sciences
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and actions to minimize negative impacts.

Top news sources

When researching a recent topic, consider utilizing news sources for up-to-date information. News outlets are particularly useful when scholarly research on your topic is limited. However, exercise caution by critically evaluating bias and authority whenever consuming news.

ClimateWire
Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.
E&E Daily
Daily coverage of the energy and environmental policy debate in Congress, legislation, and politics.
EnergyWire
EnergyWire is designed to bring readers deep, broad and insightful coverage on the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the United States and around the world.
GreenWire
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources.
Online newspapers at Duke
Access national and global newspapers to which Duke University Libraries has a subscription

Background information

ScienceDirect
includes works on biodiversity, ecology, energy, forestry, oceanography, and soils (limit search to "Reference Works" for background information).
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field
Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change
A multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it.