LibGuides: Sociology: Finding Articles

Finding Articles, Online Journals, and Databases

Use the search portal on the Duke Libraries' homepage to find:

Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
Find specific research databases (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke doesn't own Interlibrary Requests.

Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the field of sociology
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Search for review articles in biomedical and life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles covering the study of sports
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the field of economics

Here is a complete listing of our Education databases. Two commonly used databases for educational research are:

ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and reports in education
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and reports of U.S. and international education research, including research on higher education

Here are three useful health/medical database:

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from medical and life science journals
MEDLINE (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Search for information on over 500 diseases and conditions from the National Institutes of Health and other medical sources
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in women and gender studies newspapers, journals and magazines from 1970 to present
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Search primary sources related to the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination, and race theory in America from the Race Relations Department, a think tank based at Fisk University 1943-1970.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines from 1959 to present