SOCIOL 332: Methods of Social Research: Finding Articles

These links take you to the electronic journals. Some of them are also available in print.

• American Journal of Sociology

• American Sociological Review 

• Annual Review of Sociology

• American Ethnologist

• Ethnology

• Social Forces

• Journal of Contemporary Ethnography

Here are two powerful health/medical database:

• MEDLINE
  Bibliographic coverage of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

• PubMed
  Provides access to over 15 million citations for the biomedical literature back to 1950.

• Google Scholar
  Simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.

• Web of Science
  Provides access to wide range of social science research. To exclude non social science citations, uncheck the boxes under "Citation Databases" at the bottom of the search page.

• Sociological Abstracts
  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

• Annual Review of Sociology
  In publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.

• PsycINFO
  More than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.

• SPORTDiscus
  Best resource for sports-related research.

• Nexis Uni
  Full-text articles from hundreds of U.S. newspapers. Coverage varies, majority from the 1990s to present.

• EconLit
  Indexes articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, and political economy.

Here are two of our most popular Education databases:

• ERIC
  Indexes literature in the field of education; a clearinghouse of research supported by US Dept. of Education.

• Education Full Text
  Premier database for primarily higher education.

• GenderWatch
  A full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.

• PAIS Index
  Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.

• Social Services Abstracts
  Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.